Phonograph[ic Images]: You spin me right round like an Electric Light Orchestra record

Kylie Coleen Tan
2 min readApr 15, 2018

--

It is Tuesday, April 10, 2018. Realistically, it is Saturday, April 14, 2018. It is the last module of my university career — a dud 2.5%; according to the totaled grade, I have surpassed the maximum amount of brownie points. I love the structure of this class; the interactive way it was taught will forever be respected and missed.

I have a tendency to abuse semi-colons, and the abuse has further been discovered and blossomed in this blog post… you will see.

(Source: GIPHY)

Module 10 is titled: “Technological Breakthrough”

Search for a piece of technology that is ubiquitous and developed before your birth date. The item you are covering should not be digital. Research how it was discovered and developed…

I choose you, Record Player.

According to the Britannica encyclopedia,

It is the replication of sound waves. The invention of the phonograph is generally credited to the American inventor Thomas Edison (1877). His first recordings were indentations embossed into a sheet of tinfoil by a vibrating stylus; the tinfoil was wrapped around a cylinder that was rotated as the sounds were being recorded.

(4 days ago)

It is Tuesday, April 10, 2018. I decided to play Side 2 of ELO’s A New World Record on my turntable. I thought to myself, “It’d be great to take advantage of this opportunity to show the world a new world record.”

--

--