Kylin Vandermeer
2 min readNov 3, 2018

--

The original, in all it’s messy handwriting and tear stained glory.

How do I love you? a poem to myself

I hear the beating heart

and feed the passion

I hear the echoing words

The to loud

To repeated

To often discouraging words.

And I counter each

With a reminder of the small success

With silence

With kindness

How do I love you, my dear fragile self?

How do I love you when the tears flow?

When the ache between your ribs steals your breath?

How Do I love you when you don’t want to get up?

My love, my tired fragile love,

Will you let me love you, even when you cry

Will you let me love you, as you take tired exhausted steps towards tomorrow?

Will you let me love you, even between aching breaths?

Will you let me love you, even as each fiber of your being says enough?

My love, will you love me even as this ink drives, as you bleed emotions in black?

My love will you just say yes?

I have many thanks to @anna_now for issue the challenge that caused this poem to come to be.

--

--

Kylin Vandermeer

Writer, artist, occasional philosopher, student and reader. Seeking escape from the mundane through art, knowledge and deeper thinking.