Inktober 11–12

Kylin Vandermeer
1 min readOct 16, 2019

Snow and dragons

art by author

I merged two prompts into one for this one, and also accidently used blue ink instead of black. I thought the cartridge I put in my pen was black, it was in fact a very nice blue. Which I then rolled with, because that’s just how I work with ink.

While I’m not 100% happy with how this one turned out, it’s the first time I’ve not hated how a drawing of this scale turned out. I also didn’t use much of a reference, I looked up moutain pictures and sorta looked at them for some details, and did a google search for dragons to get some ideas on details but the actual pose and final details were my own.

In art, and in any other endeavour that is very much something to be said for trying and learning from that attempt. Almost any skills starts with you not being very good at it, and being okay with that is a skill in and of its self. One that I’m trying to get better at.

If you’d like more from this series

--

--

Kylin Vandermeer

Writer, artist, occasional philosopher, student and reader. Seeking escape from the mundane through art, knowledge and deeper thinking.