Inktober 14

Kylin Vandermeer
1 min readOct 17, 2019

Overgrown

art by author

This one was a bit of a stretch for my usual skills. I didn’t really use a reference for this, just sorta figured it out as I went along, which was a bit of a challenge.

I had a lot of fun with the cross hatching and trying to figure out how I wanted to do this. I’ve always been fascinated by seeing overgrown ruins, those places where nature is slowly winning agasint man-made structures, there’s something very humbling about it. In the time those structures were made they were the best man could do, and yet, here some vines and moss are over coming it with nothing more then time.

If you’d like more from this series

--

--

Kylin Vandermeer

Writer, artist, occasional philosopher, student and reader. Seeking escape from the mundane through art, knowledge and deeper thinking.