Inktober 17

Kylin Vandermeer
1 min readOct 21, 2019

Ornament

art by author

I really didn’t know what to do for this one so I went a bit abstract. I like playing wiht light and darks. I love doing dramatic contrasts.

I also couldn’t help but think of Christmas time given the prompt. Over the past few years with my mental health issues I’ve dreaded Christmas. It’s not an easy time for me, I deal with seasonal affective disorder which is at it’s worst during that time of the year. And there is the stress that comes with the time of the year, the extra expenses and a lot of traveling, and of course a lot more time around large groups of people, and this year, 3 final exams.

But I’m feeling better about this year, my mental health is better then it’s been in years, for which I am incredibly greatful. Maybe I can get through this year without an emotional breackdown.

--

--

Kylin Vandermeer

Writer, artist, occasional philosopher, student and reader. Seeking escape from the mundane through art, knowledge and deeper thinking.