inktober 18

Kylin Vandermeer
1 min readOct 23, 2019

misfit

I’m a misfit, or at least felt like it for much of my younger life, and a bunch of my later life. I’d watch people in groups enjoying conversations, laughing, planning things, and feeling so angry and bitter. All because I had no idea how they did it.

As I grew up I learned things, how to converse a little easier, but more importantly that just because I didn’t fit with a lot of the people I knew as a teenager didn’t mean I wouldn’t ever find a group I did fit with.

I’ve also learned that most people experience at least a little social anxiety, that they feel like they don’t fit in sometimes, and that a social interaction being a little akward isn’t a bad thing. Sometimes it’s the very thing that gets a friendship started.

The final, very important thing is I found some people I do fit with, it took a bit, and I had to get out of my comfort zone, but I found them.

--

--

Kylin Vandermeer

Writer, artist, occasional philosopher, student and reader. Seeking escape from the mundane through art, knowledge and deeper thinking.