LaLa Land in Beijing: Truth on the over paying items in the western world — phone accessories

Jianxin Ren
4 min readDec 15, 2017

After I get this job (manufacture director) in china, I feels like my whole life has been a lie. Everything we brought in Amazon or Ebay or any physical stores (which is more expensive) that we think is cheap or for the right price we are wrong about it. The price we are getting is probably 3 times more than the price of distributors and probably 10 time more expensive than the factory price. Below are just some thing that I found that is ridiculously expensive but extremely cheap in china.

Phone cases

Phones case I will said is the most profitable business in the world right now. After the iphone come out, phone case has been a boom industry until now. Made quite a few millionaires over night. Lets take a look some comparison on the price.

Same case in China sold for $4.5 and in US sold for $18.99 that is 5 times more
same case in China sold for $0.3 and Amazon is $10.99 (crazy)

Charging Wires

Other than phone cases, phone cables has been another boom market as well.

Amzon is selling for $11.99 in China is sold for $0.70
Amzon is selling for $11.99 in China is sold for $0.40

Charger

Cina price is $1 and the amazon price is $10.59
I also manage to find a much better verison for $0.15

Ear Phones

same ear phone china sold for $3. 5 for one, in amazon is sold for $19.99 for two
same wireless earphone in china sold for $3.8 and in amazon is sold for $71.99 you see the difference

There are many products that you buy thinking you got a great deal but the truth is you never know what is the real price for these items. For the price above there is a trade off, you do have to buy them in bulk which means you do have to buy them for more than 10 or 20 depends on the vendor. But even with the shipping fee is still worth it. The question comes down to “Do you want to use 10 dollar to buy 10 items or you want to use 10 dollar to buy 1 items?”

For me, I have been in the business for more than three years experience, too much and see, too much to learn and too much of these thing being produce on a daily bases. Even right now sometime is hard for me to get a bargain. What I have wrote here is not even a tip of the ice burg. There are a whole lot more in this business and it is CRAZY. I will review more things in each month and hope you guys will learn something and let me know if you have anything questions or I can help with, love to chat. And keep an eye on my next post. Also clap for me if you like what you read help to share as well :)

Thanks

C’est La Vie

--

--

Jianxin Ren

frequent traveller, foodie, entrepreneur, Netronix IoT platform, crypto, manufacture consultant, http://netronix.io