Scarf #4: Storm and Stone

Kate Zwaard
3 min readMar 2, 2016

--

Warp

White Whisker Studios Heirloom Luxe

(I’m very new at this, but) when I’m making a scarf, I start with either a warp or a weft. In this case, I had the weft picked out and I poked around on Etsy for a warp that might work. The one I chose, from White Whisker Studios, is hand painted in royal blue, turquoise, and teal. Part of what I love about weaving is the collaboration with other artists. And Reishka’s work, of designing the pallet, transitions, and length of color is what makes this piece so interesting.

  • Fingering / 4 ply
  • 437 yards / 100 grams
  • 50% Merino, 50% Silk
  • References: Etsy | Ravelry
Still hard for me to wrap my brain around how color will translate from skein -> warp -> woven fabric

Weft

The Fiberists’ Newton Worsted

This is my second project with this yarn, which is just a dream to work with. I like working with a worsted weft, which weaves up quickly. I’m impatient to get to the end so I can see what it looks like (I also can’t wait to finish books — it’s a sickness).

  • Colorway: MgAl2O4 deep teal
  • Worsted / 10 ply
  • 60% Merino, 40% Bombyx
  • 550 yards / 250 grams
  • References: Website | Ravelry | Twitter
None of these photographs capture the weft color well, which is a gray/green teal

Set-up

  • Plain weave (obvs) on a 20-inch Schacht Flip Rigid Heddle loom
  • 10 dent reed
  • 116 warp ends
  • About 100 inches from back apron rod to warping peg

Finished scarf

Not smiling, because smiling makes me look like I just ate a hamster

I am itching to wear this because it feels SO GOOD. It has a nice luster and happily straddles the line between somber and bright. It reminds me of butterfly wings or peacock feathers maybe, with the windows of almost irridescent color peaking through.

  • Measures about 10.5" by 62" (not including fringe)
  • More details at Ravelry.
  • Now that I’ve discovered weaving, I will never have to knit again!

--

--

Kate Zwaard

I like science, cooking, kindness, and making stuff. Strong opinions, loosely held.