Brittney Powell Styles Celebrities To The Everyday Working Girl

Elaine Rau
4 min readSep 10, 2017

--

Brittney Powell is a Kansas City native who resides in Montgomery, AL. She is the mother of two girls, who have always inspired her business endeavors. As the creator of Kay Couture Clothing and Cosmetics, it was her oldest daughter Katelyn who inspired the name with her sweet but sassy personality. Kay Couture’s clothing has every style you need from dressy, to casual every day wear. It is the woman that makes the clothing and every woman should feel good in whatever she wears.

To compliment each outfit, Kay Couture Cosmetics is sure to have a lipgloss and lipstick to provide that perfect finishing touch. Brittney has also been featured in People Magazine 3 times this year as well as in Health Magazine. Her clientele include Lil Mo’, Crystal Westbrooks, Cheryl Mcwhorter, Emerald Khan, Demetria McKinney and several celebrities from VH1’s Love and Hip Hop.

What motivated and inspired you to start your own business?

My best friend was also a single mom at the same time and she had her own nail salon and it just pushed me so mentally to know that you can have it all.

Tell us about your business.

Kay Couture has its own clothing line and cosmetic line and just added a beard oil line and skincare line. Our products can be found in Walmart.

List awards/certifications/accomplishments.

First African American woman sole proprietor on Walmart with her cosmetic line.

Where is your business based?

Montgomery, Alabama.

What were the first few steps you took to get your business up and running?

I started selling clothes online on Facebook and it grew until I got my very own website.

What has been the most effective way of raising awareness of your business and getting new customers?

Social media.

What have been your biggest challenges so far?

My biggest challenges have been time management between still working a 9–5 as a nurse and a single mother of two and running a business is very strenuous.

How did you overcome these challenges?

Lots of prayer and meditation and knowing I have to keep going to provide a future for my 2.

How do you keep motivated through difficult times?

My children keep me motivated — I don’t think I would be this focused without them.

How do you distinguish yourself from your competitors?

My brand is not just for the super rich and famous, but for the everyday working girl and single mother. Who would like to be just as fabulous as the celebrities… without the cost!

What is the best advice you have received recently?

My dad said to me “Brittney if this is what you want to do, see it through to the end”.

What advice would you give to other entrepreneurs?

Don’t stop at the first sign of trouble, push past the obstacle and see your vision fulfilled.

What are your favorite business tools/resources and why?

Go Daddy. It was my first website and it was super easy.

What is a good article or book you have read recently?

“How to Pray in Times of Stress” by Linda Evans.

What are you currently learning about for your business or looking for help with?

Right now I’m in the middle of getting my natural hair care line approved for the market.

What are your goals for the next few months and how are you striving to achieve them?

Having my hair care line in Walmart and salons worldwide.

What social media outlets do you use? List them below.

Instagram @kaycoutureclothing
Facebook www.facebook.com/kaycoutureclothing1
Website www.kaycoutureclothing.com

--

--

Elaine Rau

Founder of LadyBossBlogger.com — blog highlighting female entrepreneurs, their businesses and their stories. Email ladybossblogger@gmail.com to be featured!