Matcha, Matcha, Matcha!: The Ways in Which the Characters on “The Brady Bunch” Reflected My Own Warped and Troubled Soul

Brian Lageose
7 min readSep 25, 2022
Image by Author.

In a random moment of erratic thinking, I thought it might be fun to compare my own psychological development with a fictional TV family. Here we go…

1. Cindy

At first, this little urchin seems to be a non-starter, as we have little in common on the surface. But as I pondered more (there’s always a lot of pondering here at Bonnywood, have you noticed?), a few shared attributes began to bubble up and break the perky surface of this Golden Curl.

First, there’s the lisp. And yes, I know it’s not polite to point out vocal challenges, but let’s face it: That lisp was a big hit at the time, with everyone thinking she was so darn cute. Now, I didn’t have a lisp, but I did have trouble speaking at times, especially if I was nervous (translation: most of the time), with the words coming out of my mouth a jumbled mess compared to their planned eloquence in my mind. This is probably another reason why I became a writer at such a young age, because I could control those words.

Second, the younger Cindy was often trussed up in odd little dresses that didn’t seem the right size, usually in the direction of “too short”. I also often had clothes that didn’t fit, partly because I was…

--

--

Brian Lageose

Texas-based writer, raised in Oklahoma, struggling to overcome both stigmas and prove that decent people can survive in a sea of overwhelming cluelessness.