Valentine Greeting Card Sayings for the Anxious Among Us

Loving sentiments from an anxiety-riddled and introverted heart…

Brian Lageose
4 min readFeb 12, 2024

--

Image by Author, created in AI.

1. “Yes, I know it’s only February 12th. But I couldn’t stand the pressure.”

2. “Why do you want to go out to dinner in celebration of our love? Can’t we just order pizza? The no-interaction kind, where they just throw the pie at the door and then flee.”

3. “You’re probably wanting some slap-and-tickle tonight. But I’m still a bit blue about my uncoordinated dismount during our last roundelay, and I need time to process. Those bedside judges were harsh. 2 out of 10 from Cleo the Cat? That hurt.”

4. “Wait a minute. I got you three cards and you only got me two. Did I go too far? Did you not go far enough? What is wrong with us?”

5. “What are you saying by not getting me any chocolate?”

6. “You got me that same card 17 years ago. I need to call my therapist.”

7. “I understand the sweetness of your efforts, but please stop posting your affection for me on my ancient Facebook page. I haven’t been there since 1872. Did you not smell the dust?”

8. “Roses are red, violets are blue, I’ve got issues, and I love sharing them with you.”

--

--

Brian Lageose

Texas-based writer, raised in Oklahoma, struggling to overcome both stigmas and prove that decent people can survive in a sea of overwhelming cluelessness.