#10 Learning Korean with K-pop: Red Velvet — Red Flavor

Laís K. Sakurai
17 min readOct 1, 2023

--

Let’s give a touch of summer flavor to your studies routine!

Check all “Learning Korean with K-pop” lessons uploaded here.

As a UI/UX Designer, I have been thinking of developing an app where people can learn languages through songs and videos. In case you are an App Developer/Back-End or Front-End Developer and you are interested in this project, please message me here.

Difficulty: Intermediate

This post contains the following sections:

  1. Vocabulary List;
  2. Grammar List;
  3. Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown;
  4. Other Links.

Vocabulary List (98 words):

  1. 빨갛다: red
  2. 맛: taste
  3. 궁금하다: curious
  4. 깨물다: to bite
  5. 점점: gradually
  6. 녹아들다: to melt, to be fused
  7. 그: that
  8. 찾다: to find, to search
  9. 내가: I, me | 나 (I, me) + 가 particle
  10. 제일: most
  11. 좋아하다: to like
  12. 것: thing
  13. 여름: summer
  14. 야자나무: palm tree
  15. 그늘: shade
  16. 아래: below
  17. 졸다: to doze off
  18. 뜨겁다: hot (objects)
  19. 여름밤: summer night
  20. 바람: wind
  21. 불다: to blow
  22. 너무: very
  23. 쉽게: easily
  24. 사랑: love
  25. 빠지다: to fall into
  26. 사랑에 빠지다: to fall in love
  27. 나인틴: nineteen
  28. 우리: we
  29. 제법: pretty much, quite
  30. 어울리다: to suit, to harmonize
  31. 또: and, again
  32. 멋지다: cool
  33. 좋다: good, to like
  34. 첫눈에: at first sight
  35. 반하다: to be attracted, to fall for
  36. 니가: you | 너 (you) + 가 particle
  37. 자꾸만: repeatedly, continuously
  38. 생각이 나다: to remember, to think of
  39. 방식대로: in my way
  40. 일곱 개의: seven (counter)
  41. 무지갯빛: rainbow colors
  42. 문: door
  43. 열다: open
  44. 너의: your
  45. 세상: world
  46. 짜릿하다: thrilled, electrified
  47. 멋있다: cool
  48. 태양: sun
  49. 니: your
  50. 색깔: color
  51. 가지다: to have, to own
  52. 내: my
  53. 멋대로: as (I) want
  54. 하다: to do
  55. 날: I, me | 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  56. 보다: to look
  57. 뭐: what
  58. 생각하다: to think
  59. 오늘: today
  60. 맘대로: as you please
  61. 상상하다: to imagine
  62. 복숭아: peach
  63. 주스: juice
  64. 믹스: mix
  65. 네게: to you | 너 (you) + 에게 particle
  66. 주다: to give
  67. 칵테일: cocktail
  68. 귓속: inside of an ear
  69. 쨍: glaringly, blazingly
  70. 코: nose
  71. 맹: blindness, numbness
  72. 상상: imagination
  73. 그: that
  74. 이상: or more, and over
  75. 기분: feeling
  76. 외치다: to shout
  77. 솔직히: honestly
  78. 긴장하다: nervous
  79. 땀: sweat
  80. 뚝뚝: in drops, with snaps
  81. 귀엽다: cute
  82. 그을리다: to be sunburned, to be scorched
  83. 말: word
  84. 알아주다: to understand, to recognize
  85. 맘: mind, feeling
  86. 커지다: to get big
  87. 다: all
  88. 흘리다: to spill
  89. 아이스크림: ice cream
  90. 같이: similar to…
  91. 이러다: do this way, say like this
  92. 녹다: to melt
  93. 그러니: so
  94. 말하다: to say, to speak
  95. 물들이다: to dye, to color
  96. 진하다: thick, strong, dense
  97. 강렬하다: strong, intense
  98. 너: you

Grammar List:

  • ~은/는 form: Describing nouns with verbs/adjectives
  • ~(라)면: If…
  • ~보다 form: to try doing something
  • 이/가 particle: Subject marking particle
  • ~은/는 것 form: Transforming verbs/adjectives into nouns
  • 은/는 particle: Topic marking particle
  • ~고 싶다 form: I want to…
  • ~고 form: Connecting particle
  • 의 particle: Possessive particle
  • ~아/어 버리다 form: Express feelings to a completed action/event; I ended up…
  • ~ㄹ form: Used to describe nouns with verbs/adjectives (Future Tense)
  • ~ㄹ/을래 form: Shall…, do you want…
  • ~대로 form: According to, just as
  • 을/를 particle: Object marking particle
  • 보다 form: More than…, rather than…
  • ~는/은데 form: but, however
  • ~ㄹ/을 수 있다 form: To be able to do…
  • ~ㄹ까 form: Thinking of…, I wonder…
  • ~고프다 form: To want to… (more poetic than ~고 싶다)
  • 에게 particle: To…, for…
  • ~자 form: Let’s do…
  • ~지 ending: Turning sentences into questions or Answering a question (gives the response a feeling of “Of course!”)
  • 에/에서 particle: Time and location indicator
  • ~아/어도 form: Even if…
  • ~(으)면 안 되다: One should/must not
  • ~가다 form: To do the first verb, then go somewhere else
  • ~ㄹ/을지(도) 모르다: Maybe (I) will do…
  • 으로/로 particle: Indicating particle
  • ~아/어주다: To give…, to do something to someone
  • ~게 form: Converting adjectives into adverbs

Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown

빨간 맛 궁금해 Honey
깨물면 점점 녹아든
Strawberry 그 맛
Corner candy shop 찾아 봐 Baby
내가 제일 좋아하는 건 여름 그 맛

빨간 맛 궁금해 Honey = Curious about the red flavor, honey

  • 빨간: 빨갛다 conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 맛: flavor
  • 궁금해: 궁금하다 conjugated in Casual Present Tense

깨물면 점점 녹아든 = The strawberry flavor that melts

  • 깨물면: 깨물다 (to bite) + ~면 form
  • 점점: gradually
  • 녹아든: 녹아들다 (to melt) conjugated in Noun-describing form

Strawberry 그 맛 = More as you bite

  • 그: that
  • 맛: flavor

Corner candy shop 찾아 봐 Baby = Look for it at your corner candy shop, baby

  • 찾아 봐: 찾다 (to find, to look for) + ~아보다 form

내가 제일 좋아하는 건 여름 그 맛 = My favorite is the summer flavor

  • 내가: 나 (I, me) + 가 particle
  • 제일: most
  • 좋아하는 건: 좋아하다 (to like) + ~는 것 form + 는 particle
  • 여름: summer
  • 그 맛: that flavor

야자나무 그늘 아래 졸고 싶고
뜨거운 여름밤의 바람은 불고
너무 쉽게 사랑 빠져 버릴 나인틴
우린 제법 어울리고 또 멋져

야자나무 그늘 아래 졸고 싶고 = I wanna fall asleep under the shade of a tree

  • 야자나무: palm tree
  • 그늘: shade
  • 아래: below
  • 졸고 싶고: 졸다 (to doze off, to fall asleep) + ~고 싶다 form + 고 connecting particle

뜨거운 여름밤의 바람은 불고 = The hot summer air blows

  • 뜨거운: 뜨겁다 (hot) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 여름밤의: summer night | 여름 (summer) + 밤 (night) + 의 particle
  • 바람은: 바람 (wind) + 은 particle
  • 불고: 불다 (to blow) + 고 connecting particle

너무 쉽게 사랑 빠져 버릴 나인틴 = And I’m at the age of 19, so easy to fall in love

  • 너무: very, a lot
  • 쉽게: easily
  • 사랑 빠져 버릴: 사랑(에) 빠지다 (to fall in love) + 버리다 form
  • 나인틴: nineteen

우린 제법 어울리고 또 멋져 = We look good together, we’re pretty cool

  • 우린: 우리 (us) + 는 particle
  • 제법: quite
  • 어울리고: 어울리다 (to harmonize, to match) + 고 connecting particle
  • 또: and
  • 멋져: 멋지다 (cool) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

좋아 첫눈에 반해 버린
니가 자꾸만 생각나
내 방식대로 갈래

좋아 첫눈에 반해 버린 = I like it, it was love at first sight

  • 좋아: 좋다 (good, to like) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 첫눈에: at first sight
  • 반해 버린: 반하다 (to fall in…) + ~버리다 form

니가 자꾸만 생각나 = I keep thinking about you

  • 니가: 너 (you) + 가 particle
  • 자꾸만: repeatedly
  • 생각나: 생각(이) 나다 (to remember, to think) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

내 방식대로 갈래 = I wanna do it my way

  • 내: my
  • 방식대로: 방식 (way) + ~대로 form
  • 갈래: 가다 (to go) + ~ㄹ래 form

일곱 개의 무지갯빛 문을 열어
너의 세상은 짜릿해 멋있어
태양보다 빨간 니 사랑의 색깔
내가 가질래 내 멋대로 할래

일곱 개의 무지갯빛 문을 열어 = Open the seven color, rainbow door

  • 일곱 개의: seven (object-counter)
  • 무지갯빛: rainbow colors
  • 문을: 문 (door) + 을 particle
  • 열어: 열다 (to open) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

너의 세상은 짜릿해 멋있어 = Your world is electric, it’s cool

  • 너의: your
  • 세상은: 세상 (world) + 은 particle
  • 짜릿해: 짜릿하다 (electrifying) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 멋있어: 멋있다 (cool) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

태양보다 빨간 니 사랑의 색깔 = The color of your love is redder than the sun

  • 태양보다: 태양 (sun) + 보다 (more than…)
  • 빨간: 빨갛다 (red) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 니: your (informal)
  • 사랑의: 사랑 (love) + 의 particle
  • 색깔: color

내가 가질래 내 멋대로 할래 = I want it, I wanna do it my way

  • 내가: 나 (I, me) + 가 particle
  • 가질래: 가지다 (to have) + ~ㄹ래 form
  • 내: my
  • 멋대로: in (my) way
  • 할래: 하다 (to do) + ~ㄹ래 form

날 봐 넌 뭘 생각하는데
오늘 뭘 할 수 있을까
내 맘대로 상상해

날 봐 넌 뭘 생각하는데 = Look at me, what are you thinking about?

  • 날: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  • 봐: 보다 (to look) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 넌: 너 (you) + 는 particle
  • 뭘: 뭐 (what) + 를 particle
  • 생각하는데: 생각하다 (to think) + ~는데 form

오늘 뭘 할 수 있을까 = What can I do today?

  • 오늘: today
  • 뭘: 뭐 (what) + 를 particle
  • 할 수 있을까: 하다 (to do) + ~ㄹ 수 있다 form + ~ㄹ까 form

내 맘대로 상상해 = I’m dreaming however I want

  • 내: my
  • 맘대로: as I want
  • 상상해: 상상하다 (to imagine) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

복숭아 주스 Sweet and sour 믹스 Mood
네게 주고픈 칵테일을 Brew (RED)
귓속이 쨍 코가 맹
상상 그 이상 기분 Up and bang (RED)

복숭아 주스 Sweet and sour 믹스 Mood = Peach juice, sweet and sour mix, mood

  • 복숭아 주스: peach juice | 복숭아 (peach) + 주스 (juice)
  • 믹스: mix

네게 주고픈 칵테일을 Brew (RED) = The cocktail I wanna make you is Brew RED

  • 네게: 너 (you) + 에게 particle
  • 주고픈 주다 (to give) + ~고프다 form
  • 칵테일을: 칵테일 (cocktail) + 을 particle

귓속이 쨍 코가 맹 = Electricity in your ears, numbness in your nose

  • 귓속이: 귓속 (inside the ear) + 이 particle
  • 쨍: blazingly
  • 코가: 코 (nose) + 가 particle
  • 맹: blindness, numbness

상상 그 이상 기분 Up and bang (RED) = Feeling better than you can imagine, up and bang RED

  • 상상: imagination
  • 그 이상: more than that | 그 (that) + 이상 (more)
  • 기분: feeling

Bet you wanna bet you wanna dance like this
외쳐 보자 좋아해요 솔직히
긴장해 땀이 뚝뚝 귀엽지
사랑에 빠져 그을려우린 RED RED Ah

외쳐 보자 좋아해요 솔직히 = Let’s shout out, I like you, honestly

  • 외쳐 보자: 외치다 (to shout) + ~어보다 form + ~자 form
  • 좋아해요: 좋아하다 (to like) conjugated in Semi-Formal Present Tense
  • 솔직히: honestly

긴장해 땀이 뚝뚝 귀엽지 = Nervous? You’re sweating, so cute

  • 긴장해: 긴장하다 (nervous) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 땀이: 땀 (sweat) + 이 particle
  • 뚝뚝: in drops
  • 귀엽지: 귀엽다 (cute) + ~지 ending

사랑에 빠져 그을려 우린 RED RED Ah = In fall, we’re RED RED ah

  • 사랑에 빠져: 사랑에 빠지다 (to fall in love) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 그을려: 그을리다 (to be sunburned) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 우린: 우리 (us) + 는 particle

말 안 해도 알아주면 안 돼
내 맘은 더 커져 가는데
다 흘려 버린 아이스크림같이
이러다 녹을지 몰라

말 안 해도 알아주면 안 돼 = Don’t figure it out if I haven’t told you

  • 말: word
  • 안 해도: 안 (not) + 해도 | 하다 (to do) + ~어도 form
  • 알아주면 안 돼

내 맘은 더 커져 가는데 = My feelings are growing for you

  • 내: my
  • 맘은: 맘 (feeling) + 은 particle
  • 더: more
  • 커져 가는데: 커지다 (to get big) + ~가다 form + ~는데 form

다 흘려 버린 아이스크림같이 = Like spilled iced cream

  • 다: all
  • 흘려 버린: 흘리다 (to spill) + ~버리다 form in Noun-describing form
  • 아이스크림같이: 아이스크림 (ice cream + 같이 (like, similar to…)

이러다 녹을지 몰라 = I might just melt

  • 이러다: do this way
  • 녹을지 몰라: 녹다 (to melt) + ~ㄹ지 모르다 form conjugated in Casual Present Tense

그러니 말해 (그래 그래 말해)
그러니 말해 (그래 그래 말해)
너의 색깔로
날 물들여 줘 더 진하게
강렬하게

그러니 말해 (그래 그래 말해) = So tell me, yea yea tell me

  • 그러니: so
  • 말해: 말하다 (to say, to speak) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 그래: yeah, okay

너의 색깔로 = With your color

  • 너의: your
  • 색깔로: 색깔 (color) + 로 particle

날 물들여 줘 더 진하게 = Color me, thicker

  • 날: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  • 물들여 줘: 물들이다 (to dye, to color) + ~어주다 form
  • 더: more
  • 진하게: 진하다 (thick) + ~게 form

강렬하게 = Stronger

  • 강렬하게: 강렬하다 (strong) + ~게 form

내가 제일 좋아하는 건 여름의 너

내가 제일 좋아하는 건 여름의 너 = My favorite is you in the summer

  • 내가: 나 (I, me) + 가 particle
  • 제일: most
  • 좋아하는 건: 좋아하다 (to like) + ~는 것 form + 는 particle
  • 여름의: 여름 (summer) + 의 particle
  • 너: you

Congratulations! You finished this lesson! I hope you enjoyed today’s Korean lesson. In case you have any suggestions, feel free to tell me in the comments!

Good luck on your language-learning journey!

--

--

Laís K. Sakurai

Creativity Obsessed & Passionate about Education, based in Brazil. Instagram: @kaoskray