#12 Learning Korean with K-pop: NewJeans — Super Shy

Laís K. Sakurai
3 min readOct 11, 2023

--

Let’s learn some Korean words through NewJeans’ most recent viral song, Super Shy. The lyrics are mostly in English, so it’s perfect for beginner-level learners!

Check all “Learning Korean with K-pop” lessons uploaded here.

As a UI/UX Designer, I have been thinking of developing an app where people can learn languages through songs and videos. In case you are an App Developer/Back-End or Front-End Developer and you are interested in this project, please message me here.

Difficulty: Beginner

This post contains the following sections:

  1. Vocabulary List;
  2. Grammar List;
  3. Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown;
  4. Other Links.

Vocabulary List (19 words):

  1. 떨리다: To tremble, to be nervous
  2. 지금: Now
  3. 우리: Us
  4. 둘: Two, both of us
  5. 나란히: In order, in parallel
  6. 보이다: To be visible, to be seen
  7. 보다: To see
  8. 내: My (informal)
  9. 눈: Eyes
  10. 갑자기: Suddenly
  11. 빛나다: To shine
  12. 누구: Who
  13. 나: I, me (informal)
  14. 원래: Originally
  15. 말: Words
  16. 잘하다: To be good/skilled
  17. 그런데: But, however
  18. 왜: Why
  19. 이렇다: To be like this

Grammar List:

  • ~은/는 form: Describing nouns with verbs/adjectives
  • 도 particle: Too, even, also
  • ~지 ending: Turning sentences into questions or Answering a question (gives the response a feeling of “Of course!”)
  • 이/가 particle: Subject marking particle
  • 보다 form: More than…, rather than…
  • ~고 form: Connecting particle
  • ~ㄴ지 form: Express uncertainty

Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown:

I’m super shy, super shy
But wait a minute while I
Make you mine, make you mine
떨리는 지금도
You’re on my mind
All the time
I wanna tell you but I’m
Super shy, super shy

떨리는 지금도 = I’m all nervous ’cause

  • 떨리는: 떨리다 (to be nervous) + ~는 form (Noun-describing form)
  • 지금도: 지금 (now) + 도 particle

And I wanna go out with you
Where you wanna go? (Huh?)
Find a lil spot
Just sit and talk
Looking pretty
Follow me
우리 둘이 나란히

우리 둘이 나란히 = You and I side by side

  • 우리: us
  • 둘이: 둘 (two, both of us) + 이 particle
  • 나란히: In order, side by side

보이지? (봐)
내 눈이 (heh)
갑자기
빛나지
When you say
I’m your dream

보이지? (봐) = Can’t you see? (Look)

  • 보이지: 보이다 (to be visible) + 지 ending
  • 봐: 보다 (to see) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

내 눈이 (heh) = My eyes (heh)

  • 내: my (informal)
  • 눈이: 눈 (eyes) + 이 particle

갑자기 = Suddenly

빛나지 = Sparkle

  • 빛나지: 빛나다 (to shine, to sparkle) + ~지 ending

You don’t even know my name
Do ya?
You don’t even know my name
Do ya-a?
누구보다도

누구보다도 = More than anyone

  • 누구보다도: 누구 (who, anyone) + 보다 particle + 도 particle

나 원래 말도 잘하고 그런데 왜 이런지
I don’t like that
Something odd about you
Yeah you’re special and you know it
You’re the top babe

나 원래 말도 잘하고 그런데 왜 이런지 = I’m usually pretty talkative what’s wrong with me

  • 나: I, me
  • 원래: originally, usually
  • 말도: 말 (words) + 도 particle
  • 잘하고: 잘하다 (to be skilled/good at) + 고 connecting particle
  • 그런데: but, however
  • 왜: why
  • 이런지: 이렇다 (to be like this) + ~ㄴ지 form

--

--

Laís K. Sakurai

Creativity Obsessed & Passionate about Education, based in Brazil. Instagram: @kaoskray