#13 Learning Korean with K-pop: ENHYPEN — Bite Me

Laís K. Sakurai
5 min readOct 14, 2023

--

Today, we will be memorizing some Korean vocabulary and grammar forms through ENHYPEN’s dark and mature song, Bite Me.

Check all “Learning Korean with K-pop” lessons uploaded here.

As a UI/UX Designer, I have been thinking of developing an app where people can learn languages through songs and videos. In case you are an App Developer/Back-End or Front-End Developer and you are interested in this project, please message me here.

Difficulty: Intermediate

This post contains the following sections:

  1. Vocabulary List;
  2. Grammar List;
  3. Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown;
  4. Other Links.

Vocabulary List:

  1. 나: I, me
  2. 다시: Again
  3. 와: Come
  4. 구원하다: To save
  5. 혈관: Blood vessel
  6. 속: Inside
  7. 너: You
  8. 찾다: To find
  9. 내: My (informal)
  10. 세포: Cell
  11. 이제: Now
  12. 알다: To know
  13. 운명: Destiny
  14. 우리: Us
  15. 발견하다: To discover
  16. 괴롭히다: To torment
  17. 뭔가: Something
  18. 찾다: To find
  19. 헤매다: To wander
  20. 떠오르다: To come up
  21. 잠시: (For) a while
  22. 잊혀지다: To be forgotten
  23. 나의: My (informal)
  24. 이름: Name
  25. 남기다: To leave
  26. 네: Your (informal)
  27. 것: Thing
  28. 증거: Evidence
  29. 찬미하다: To praise
  30. 그게: That | 그것 (that) + 가 particle
  31. 숙명: Destiny
  32. 이: This
  33. 어둠: Darkness
  34. 기회: Opportunity
  35. 주다: To give
  36. 바치다: To dedicate
  37. 지키다: To protect
  38. 과거: Past
  39. 버리다: To throw away
  40. 어리석다: Foolish
  41. 오만: Arrogance
  42. 연결하다: To connect
  43. 삼키다: To swallow

Grammar List:

  • 에게 particle: To…, for…
  • 으로/로 particle: Indicating particle
  • ~ㄹ 거야 form: I will… (Future Tense form)
  • ~(라)면: If…
  • 을/를 particle: Object marking particle
  • ~던 form: Describing nouns with verbs/adjectives (Past Tense)
  • 은/는 particle: Topic marking particle
  • ~지 ending: Turning sentences into questions or Answering a question (gives the response a feeling of “Of course!”)
  • ~은/는 form: Describing nouns with verbs/adjectives
  • 이/가 particle: Subject marking particle
  • ~아/어주다: To give…, to do something to someone
  • ~란 form: Abbreviation of ~라고 하는 or ~라고 한 (called/named…)
  • ~ㄹ form: Used to describe nouns with verbs/adjectives (Future Tense)
  • 에/에서 particle: Time and location indicator
  • ~ㄹ게 form: I will…, I’ll do it for… (sounds softer than ~ㄹ 거야)

Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown

It’s you and me in this world
내게로 다시 와 tie me
날 구원할 거라면
Just come kiss me and bite me

내게로 다시 와 tie me = Again come to me tie me

  • 내게로: 나 (I, me) + 에게 particle + 로 particle
  • 다시: again
  • 와: 오다 (to come) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

날 구원할 거라면 = If you are going to save me

  • 날: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  • 구원할 거라면: 구원하다 (to save) + ~ㄹ 거야 + ~라면

혈관 속 memory
널 찾던 내 세포는 scream
이젠 알아 what I had to be
운명은 우릴 다시 발견했지

혈관 속 memory = Memory in my veins

  • 혈관: veins
  • 속: inside

널 찾던 내 세포는 scream = My cells in search of you scream

  • 널: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 찾던: 찾다 (to find, to look for) + ~던 form
  • 내: my (informal)
  • 세포는: 세포 (cell) + 는 particle

이젠 알아 what I had to be = Now I know what I had to be

  • 이젠: 이제 (now) + 는 particle
  • 알아: 알다 (to know) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

운명은 우릴 다시 발견했지 = Fate discovered us once again

  • 운명은: 운명 (fate) + 은 particle
  • 우릴: 우리 (us) + 를 particle
  • 다시: again
  • 발견했지: 발견하다 (to discover) conjugated in Past Tense + ~지 ending

Got me bad bad bad 나를 괴롭힌
뭔갈 찾아 헤매는 dreams
떠올랐어 when you next to me
잠시 잊혀진 나의 이름이

Got me bad bad bad 나를 괴롭힌 = Got me bad bad bad torturing me

  • 나를: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  • 괴롭힌: 괴롭히다 (to torment) in Noun-describing form (Past Tense)

뭔갈 찾아 헤매는 dreams = Dreams wander looking for something

  • 뭔갈: 뭔가 (something) + 를 particle
  • 찾아 헤매는: 찾다 (to search) + 헤매다 (to wander around) + ~는 form (Noun-describing form)

떠올랐어 when you next to me = It comes to me when you next to me

  • 떠올랐어: 떠오르다 (to come up) conjugated in Casual Past Tense

잠시 잊혀진 나의 이름이 = My name that was briefly forgotten

  • 잠시: for a while, briefly
  • 잊혀진: 잊혀지다 (to be forgotten) conjugated in Noun-describing form (Past Tense)
  • 나의: my (informal)
  • 이름이: 이름 (name) + 이 particle

Come here and get some
남겨줘 on my neck 네 거란 증거
Just come over and bite me

남겨줘 on my neck 네 거란 증거 = Leave the mark on my neck that it’s yours

  • 남겨줘: 남기다 (to leave) + ~어주다 form
  • 네: your (informal)
  • 거란: 것 (thing) + 란 form
  • 증거: mark

Come here and get some
널 찬미할 sidekick 그게 내 숙명
Just come over and bite me

널 찬미할 sidekick 그게 내 숙명 = Sidekick that worships you, That’s my destiny

  • 널: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 찬미할: 찬미하다 (to praise) + ㄹ form
  • 그게: that | 그것 (that) + 가 particle
  • 내: my (informal)
  • 숙명: destiny

It’s you and me in this world
이 어둠 속에서 light me
기회를 줄 거라면
Just come kiss me and bite me
Yeah

이 어둠 속에서 light me = In this darkness light me

  • 이: this
  • 어둠: darkness
  • 속에서: 속 (inside) + 에서 particle

기회를 줄 거라면 = If you’ll give me a chance

  • 기회를: 기회 (chance) + 를 particle
  • 줄 거라면: 주다 (to give) + ~ㄹ 거야 form + ~라면 form

너에게 바칠게, 너를 지킬 brave heart
과거에 버린 내 어리석은 오만
Come to me, make it right
다시 연결해 줘, 날
삼켜, 날

너에게 바칠게, 너를 지킬 brave heart = I dedicate to you the brave heart that’ll protect you

  • 너에게: 너 (you) + 에게 particle
  • 바칠게: 바치다 (to dedicate) + ~ㄹ게 form
  • 너를: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 지킬: 지키다 (to protect) + ㄹ form

과거에 버린 내 어리석은 오만 = My foolish arrogance I tossed away in the past

  • 과거에: 과거 (past) + 에 particle
  • 버린: 버리다 (to throw away) conjugated in Noun-describing form (Past Tense)
  • 내: my
  • 어리석은: 어리석다 (foolish) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 오만: arrogance

다시 연결해 줘, 날 = Please connect me again

  • 다시: again
  • 연결해 줘: 연결하다 (to connect) + ~어주다 form
  • 날: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle

삼켜, 날 = Devour me

  • 삼켜: 삼키다 (to swallow, to devour) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 날: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle

--

--

Laís K. Sakurai

Creativity Obsessed & Passionate about Education, based in Brazil. Instagram: @kaoskray