#4 Learning Korean with K-pop: LE SSERAFIM — Unforgiven

Laís K. Sakurai
6 min readSep 11, 2023

--

In today’s lesson, we will be breaking down the lyrics of LE SSERAFIM’s badass song, UNFORGIVEN! This song has some words you probably wouldn’t use in your daily life, but the grammar forms are very useful.

Check all “Learning Korean with K-pop” lessons uploaded here.

As a UI/UX Designer, I have been thinking of developing an app where people can learn languages through songs and videos. In case you are an App Developer/Back-End or Front-End Developer and you are interested in this project, please message me here.

Difficulty: Intermediate

This post contains the following sections:

  1. Vocabulary List;
  2. Grammar List;
  3. Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown;
  4. Other Links.

Vocabulary List (63 words):

  1. 난: I, me
  2. 그: that
  3. 길: street, way, path
  4. 걸다: to walk
  5. 길을 걸다: walk along the street
  6. 새시대: new age
  7. 기억되다: to be remembered
  8. 불편함: inconvenience, discomfort
  9. 깃들다|: to permeate, to be filled with something
  10. 사냥감: game, prey
  11. 거듭하다: to repeat
  12. 찾다: to find, to search, to hunt
  13. 워리어: warrior
  14. 너의: your
  15. 문제아: problem child
  16. 골칫거리: trouble, nuisance, headache (informal)
  17. 내가: I, me (나 + 가 particle)
  18. 제일: most
  19. 싫다: to hate, to dislike
  20. 낡다: old (object)
  21. 대물림: handing down, inheritance
  22. 어둠: darkness
  23. 속: inside
  24. 불을 켜다: to turn on the light
  25. 마치: it’s like…
  26. 힘없이: weakly, powerless
  27. 늘: always
  28. 지다: to lose
  29. 싸움: fight
  30. 바라다: to hope, to wish
  31. 용서: forgiveness, pardon
  32. 따위: or such, such a thing
  33. 금기: taboo
  34. 겨누다: to aim, to target
  35. 나: I, me
  36. 저: that
  37. 너머: beyond
  38. 같이: together
  39. 가다: to go
  40. 선: line
  41. 한계: limit, limitation
  42. 위: above, up
  43. 남겨지다: to remain, to be left
  44. 우리: us, our
  45. 이름: name
  46. 내: my
  47. 방식: way, method
  48. 아주: very
  49. 원없이: all you want
  50. 또: again, also, and
  51. 한국말: Korean language
  52. 철없이: immaturely
  53. 미래: future
  54. 그 앞에: in front of, before…
  55. 새겨두다: to carve out, to engrave
  56. 나의: my
  57. 스토리: story
  58. 신념: belief, creed
  59. 죄: sin
  60. 보다: to see
  61. 나다움: being myself, it’s like me
  62. 목소리: voice
  63. 좀: a little

Grammar List:

  • 는/은 particle: Topic marking particle;
  • 을/를 particle: Object marking particle;
  • 로 particle: Indicating particle;
  • ~ㄹ form: Used to describe nouns with verbs/adjectives (Future Tense);
  • ~ㄴ/는 form: Noun-describing verbs/adjectives;
  • 에 particle: Time/place particle;
  • 가/이 particle: Subject marking particle;
  • ~은/는 것 form: Transforming verbs/adjectives into nouns;
  • ~야만 하다 form: Only if… it’s possible to… (puts more emphasis than 야 하다);
  • ~던 form: Describing nouns with verbs/adjectives (Past Tense);
  • ~ㄴ 적이 없다: to have never…
  • 도 particle: too, even
  • 랑 particle: with…
  • ~자 form: Let’s do…
  • ~면 form: if…
  • ~게 되다 form: To end up…
  • ~ㄹ 거야: Future Tense.

Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown:

Unforgiven I’m a villain I’m a
Unforgiven 난 그 길을 걸어
Unforgiven I’m a villain I’m a
새 시대로 기억될 Unforgiven

Unforgiven 난 그 길을 걸어 = Unforgiven I’mma walk that road

  • 난: I, me [나 (I, me) + 는 particle]
  • 그: that
  • 길을 걸어: 길을 걸다 (to walk a road) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

새 시대로 기억될 Unforgiven = It’ll be remembered as a new era, unforgiven

  • 새 시대로: 새 시대 (new era/age) + 로 particle
  • 기억될: 기억되다 (to be remembered) in ㄹ form (Describing nouns with verbs in Future Tense)

Yeah what you want?
불편함이 깃든 face, wanna shut me up
사냥감을 거듭해 찾는 워리어s
너의 game에 난 문제아
Such a freak 골칫거리

불편함이 깃든 face, wanna shut me up = Discomfort on my face, wanna shut me up

  • 불편함이: 불편함 (discomfort) + 이 particle
  • 깃든: 깃들다 (to permeate, to be filled with something) conjugated in Noun-describing Past Tense

사냥감을 거듭해 찾는 워리어 = Warriors looking for game to hunt

  • 사냥감을: 사냥감 (game) + 을 particle
  • 거듭해: 거듭하다 (to repeat) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 찾는: 찾다 (to find, to look for) conjugated in ~ㄴ/는 form (Noun-describing verbs/adjectives)
  • 워리어: warrior

너의 game에 난 문제아 = In your game, I’m the problem,

  • 너의: your
  • game에: game (게임) + 에 particle
  • 난: I, me [나 (I, me) + 는 particle]
  • 문제아: problem child

Such a freak 골칫거리 = Such a freak, such a headache

  • 골칫거리: nuisance, headache

Let me tell you ’bout LE SSERAFIM
내가 제일 싫은 건 낡은 대물림
어둠 속 불을 켜 마치 rebellion
We gonna kick it break it
Rules gon’ give up

내가 제일 싫은 건 낡은 대물림 = I hate shabby hand-me-downs more than anything

  • 내가: I, me (나 + 가 particle)
  • 제일: most
  • 싫은 건: 싫다 (to hate) + ~은/는 것 form + 는 particle
  • 낡은: 낡다 (old) conjugated in Present Tense
  • 대물림:

어둠 속 불을 켜 마치 rebellion = Lighting up the dark, like a rebellion

  • 어둠 속: 어둠 (darkness) + 속 (inside)
  • 불을 켜: 불을 켜다 (to light up) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 마치: it’s like

Unforgiven yes I was bleeding
힘없이 늘 져야만 했던 싸움 but I ride
바란 적도 없어 용서 따위는
난 금기를 겨눠 Watch me now
Now now now

힘없이 늘 져야만 했던 싸움 = I was powerless, used to lose every fight

  • 힘없이: weakly, powerless
  • 늘: always
  • 져야만 했던: 지다 (to lose) + ~야만 하다 form + ~ㅆ던 form
  • 싸움: fight

바란 적도 없어 용서 따위는 = Never asked for forgiveness or anything

  • 바란 적도없어: 바라다 (to hope, to wish) + ~적이 없다 form + 도 particle
  • 용서: forgiveness
  • 따위는: such as, or such + 는 particle

난 금기를 겨눠 Watch me now = Gonna target taboos, watch me now

  • 난: 나 (I, me) + 는 particle
  • 금기를: 금기 (taboo) + 를 particle
  • 겨눠: 겨누다 (to aim, to target) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

나랑 저 너머 같이 가자 my “unforgiven girls”
나랑 선 넘어 같이 가자 my “unforgiven boys”
Unforgiven unforgiven unforgiven
한계 위로 남겨지는 우리 이름
나랑 저 너머 같이 가자 my “unforgiven girls”

나랑 저 너머 같이 가자 my “unforgiven girls” = Come to that faraway land with me, my “unforgiven girls”

  • 나랑: 나 (I, me) + 랑 particle
  • 저 너머: 저 (that) + 너머 (beyond)
  • 같이: together
  • 가자: 가다 (to go) + ~자 form

나랑 선 넘어 같이 가자 my “unforgiven boys” = Come and cross the line with me, my “unforgiven boys”

  • 선: line

한계 위로 남겨지는 우리 이름 = Our names surpass all limits

  • 한계: limit
  • 위로: 위 (above, up) + 로 particle
  • 남겨지는: 남겨지다 (to remain) + ~은/는 것 form
  • 우리: us, our
  • 이름: name

U-unforgiven-given-given
내 style로 livin’ livin’ livin’
내 방식 아주 원 없이 또 한국말론
아주 “철없이”

내 style로 livin’ livin’ livin’ = That’s my style I’m livin’ livin’ livin’

  • 내: my (informal)
  • style로: style (스타일) + 로 particle

내 방식 아주 원 없이 또 한국말론 = My way, I already got it all, or say it in Korean,

  • 내: my (informal)
  • 방식: way, method
  • 아주: very
  • 원 없이: all you want
  • 또: again, also, or
  • 한국말론: 한국말 (Korean language) + 로 particle + 는 particle

아주 “철없이” = So “cheol-oebsi”

  • 아주: very
  • 철없이: immaturely

Get started let’s get started
미래 그 앞에 새겨둬 나의 story
신념이 죄면 난 villain,
I’m not that cinderella type of a girl

미래 그 앞에 새겨둬 나의 story = Before the future, carve out my story

  • 미래: future
  • 그 앞에: in front of, before…
  • 새겨둬: 새겨두다 (to carve out, to engrave) conjugated in Casual Present Tense
  • 나의: my (informal)

신념이 죄면 난 villain = If belief’s a sin, I’m a villain

  • 신념이: 신념 (belief) + 이 particle
  • 죄면: 죄 (sin) + ~면 form
  • 난: 나 (I, me) + 는 particle

Oh I will never be a clown
Oh 보게 될 거야 나다움
Oh 내 목소린 좀 loud
Oh I don’t care just shout it out!

Oh 보게 될 거야 나다움 = Oh you’ll see, what I’m made of

  • 보게 될 거야: 보다 (to see) + ~게 되다 form + ~ㄹ 거야 form
  • 나다움: being myself, it’s like me

Oh 내 목소린 좀 loud = Oh my voice is kinda loud

  • 내: my (informal)
  • 목소린: 목소리 (voice) + 는 particle
  • 좀: a little

Congratulations! You finished this lesson! I hope you enjoyed today’s Korean lesson. In case you have any suggestions, feel free to tell me in the comments!

Good luck on your language-learning journey!

--

--

Laís K. Sakurai

Creativity Obsessed & Passionate about Education, based in Brazil. Instagram: @kaoskray