#9 Learning Korean with K-pop: BTS — The Truth Untold

Laís K. Sakurai
17 min readSep 30, 2023

--

Dive into BTS’s universe and make your study journey more fascinating through their amazing lyrics and moving instrumentals. This song is one of my favorites and it was a nice experience to fully understand the lyrics by learning all of the words and grammar forms!

Check all “Learning Korean with K-pop” lessons uploaded here.

As a UI/UX Designer, I have been thinking of developing an app where people can learn languages through songs and videos. In case you are an App Developer/Back-End or Front-End Developer and you are interested in this project, please message me here.

Credits: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MhpHc1y0mNw

Difficulty: Intermediate

This post contains the following sections:

  1. Vocabulary List;
  2. Grammar List;
  3. Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown;
  4. Other Links.

Vocabulary List (87 words):

  1. 외로움: loneliness
  2. 가득히: filled with, fully
  3. 피다: to bloom
  4. 이: this
  5. 가시: thorn
  6. 투성이: full of…
  7. 모래성: sandcastle
  8. 난: I, me | 나 (I, me) + 는 particle
  9. 날: I, me | 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  10. 매다: to tie, to lace
  11. 너의: your
  12. 이름: name
  13. 뭐: what
  14. 가다: to go
  15. 곳: place
  16. 있다: to have, to be
  17. 정원: garden
  18. 숨어들다: to sneak in
  19. 널: you | 너 (you) + 를 particle
  20. 보다: to see
  21. 너의: your
  22. 온기: warmth
  23. 모두: all, everybody
  24. 다: all
  25. 진짜: real
  26. 푸르다: blue
  27. 꽃: flower
  28. 꺾다: to pick (flower)
  29. 손: hand
  30. 잡다: to hold
  31. 내: my
  32. 운명: destiny
  33. 너에게: to you
  34. 다가서다: to approach
  35. 내겐: to me
  36. 부르다: to call for
  37. 없다: to not exist, to not have
  38. 초라하다: pathetic
  39. 모습: appearance
  40. 보여주다: to show something
  41. 또: again
  42. 가면: mask
  43. 쓰다: to use, to wear
  44. 만나다: to meet
  45. 정원: garden
  46. 닮다: to resemble
  47. 주다: to give
  48. 바보: stupid
  49. 같다: to look like…
  50. 벗다: to take off
  51. 영원히: forever
  52. 그렇다: as such, like that
  53. 숨다: to hide, to be hidden
  54. 추하다: dirty, ugly
  55. 나: I, me
  56. 두렵다: scared
  57. 결국: in the end
  58. 떠나다: to leave
  59. 하다: to do
  60. 세상: world
  61. 예쁘다: pretty, beautiful
  62. 너: you
  63. 닮다: to resemble
  64. 피우다: to make bloom
  65. 니가: you | 너 (you) + 가 particle
  66. 알다: to know
  67. 나: I, me
  68. 숨쉬다: to breath
  69. 것: thing
  70. 어쩌면: maybe
  71. 그때: that moment, back then
  72. 조금만: just a little
  73. 이만큼: as much as this, this much
  74. 용기: courage
  75. 용기를 내다: take courage, pluck up one’s courage
  76. 앞: front of
  77. 섰다: to stand
  78. 지금: now
  79. 모든 것: everything
  80. 다르다: different
  81. 울다: to cry
  82. 사라지다: to disappear
  83. 무너지다: to fall apart
  84. 홀로: alone
  85. 남겨지다: to remain, to be left behind
  86. 부서지다: to be shattered, to be broken
  87. 바라보다: to stare, to look

Grammar List:

  • 이/가 particle: Subject marking particle
  • ~고 있다/~아/어 있다 form: Present Progressive form
  • ~은/는 form: Describing nouns with verbs/adjectives
  • 에/에서 particle: Time and location indicator
  • 을/를 particle: Object marking particle
  • ~ㄴ지 form: Express uncertainty
  • ~ㄹ form: Used to describe nouns with verbs/adjectives (Future Tense)
  • ~긴 하다 form: Used to say something that is partially true (even though…)
  • ~란 걸 form: Convert a sentence into a noun (the thing thats is…); short for -이라고 하는 것을
  • ~고 싶다 form: I want to…
  • ~지만 form: however, but
  • ~인 걸 form: It is… (similar to 이다)
  • 에게 particle: To…, for…
  • ~ㄹ/을 수 없다 form: To not be able to do…, it can’t…
  • ~니까 form: Because…, since…
  • ~고 form: Connecting particle
  • ~러 가다 form: go to do something
  • 의 particle: Possessive particle
  • ~지 form: turn a statement into a question
  • ~고서 form: And (then)
  • ~은/는 것 form: Transforming verbs/adjectives into nouns
  • ~야만 하다 form: Only if… it’s possible to… (puts more emphasis than 야 하다)
  • ~은/는 걸 form: Shows the speaker’s surprise or frustration
  • 도 particle: Too, even, also
  • ~아/어 버리다 form: Express feelings to a completed action/event; I ended up…
  • ~ㄹ까 form: Thinking of…, I wonder…
  • ~ㄹ/을 수 있다 form: To be able to do…
  • ~ㄴ/은 다음(에) form: After doing…
  • 으로/로 particle: Indicating particle
  • ~만큼: As much as…
  • 만 particle: Only…, just…
  • ~아/어서 form: Because…; it can also be used to connect clauses
  • ~았/었더라면 form: If I had… I would have…
  • ~아/어지다 form: To become…, to get…
  • ~면서 form: While…

Explanation & Lyrics Breakdown

외로움이 가득히
피어있는 이 garden
가시투성이
이 모래성에 난 날 매었어

외로움이 가득히 = This garden is filled

  • 외로움이: 외로움 (loneliness) + 이 (this)
  • 가득히: filled (with)

피어있는 이 garden = With blossoming loneliness

  • 피어있는: 피다 (to bloom) + ~아/어 있다 form
  • 이: this

가시투성이 = I tied myself

  • 가시: thorns
  • 투성이: full of…

이 모래성에 난 날 매었어 = To this sand castle filled with thorns

  • 이: this
  • 모래성에: 모래성 (sand castle) + 에 particle
  • 난: 나 (I, me) + 는 particle
  • 날: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  • 매었어: 매다 (to tie) conjugated in Casual Past Tense

너의 이름은 뭔지
갈 곳이 있긴 한지
Oh could you tell me?
이 정원에 숨어든 널 봤어

너의 이름은 뭔지 = What is your name?

  • 너의: your
  • 이름은: 이름 (name) + 은 particle
  • 뭔지: 뭐 (what) + ~ㄴ지 form

갈 곳이 있긴 한지 = Do you even have a place to go?

  • 갈: 가다 (to go) conjugated in ~ㄹ form (Future Tense)
  • 곳이: 곳 (place) + 이 particle
  • 있긴 한지: 있다 (to have) + ~긴 하다 form

이 정원에 숨어든 널 봤어 = I saw you hiding in this garden

  • 이: this
  • 정원에: 정원 (garden) + 에 particle
  • 숨어든: 숨어들다 (to sneak in) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 널: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 봤어: 보다 (to see) conjugated in Casual Past Tense

And I know
너의 온긴 모두 다 진짜란 걸
푸른 꽃을 꺾는 손
잡고 싶지만

너의 온긴 모두 다 진짜란 걸 = Your heat is real

  • 너의: your
  • 온긴: 온기 (warmth) + 는 particle
  • 모두: all
  • 다: all
  • 진짜란 걸: 진짜 (real) + ~란 걸 form

푸른 꽃을 꺾는 손 = Your hand picks the blue flowers

  • 푸른: 푸르다 (blue) conjugated in Noun-describing
  • 꽃을: 꽃 (flower) + 을 particle
  • 꺾는: 꺾다 (to pick) conjugated in Noun-describing
  • 손: hand

잡고 싶지만 = I want to hold it but

  • 잡고 싶지만: 잡다 (to hold) + ~고 싶다 form + ~지만 form

내 운명인 걸
Don’t smile on me
Light on me
너에게 다가설 수 없으니까
내겐 불러줄 이름이 없어

내 운명인 걸 = This is my destiny

  • 내: my
  • 운명인 걸: 운명 (destiny) + ~인 걸 form

너에게 다가설 수 없으니까 = Because I can’t go to you

  • 너에게: 너 (you) + 에게 particle
  • 다가설 수 없으니까: 다가서다 (to approach) + ~ㄹ 수 없다 form + ~(으)니까 form

내겐 불러줄 이름이 없어 = There’s no name to call

  • 내겐: 나 (I, me) + 에게 particle + 는 particle
  • 불러줄: 부르다 (to call for) + ~어주다 form
  • 이름이: 이름 (name) + 이 particle
  • 없어: 없다 (to not have) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

You know that I can’t
Show you me
Give you me
초라한 모습 보여줄 순 없어
또 가면을 쓰고 널 만나러 가
But I still want you

초라한 모습 보여줄 순 없어 = I can’t show you my weakness

  • 초라한: 초라하다 (pathetic) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 모습: appearance
  • 보여줄 순 없어: 보여주다 (to show) + ~ㄹ 수 없다 form + 는 particle

또 가면을 쓰고 널 만나러 가 = So I’m putting on a mask to go see you

  • 또: again, and
  • 가면을: 가면 (mask) + 을 particle
  • 쓰고: 쓰다 (to wear, to use) + 고 connecting particle
  • 널: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 만나러 가: 만나다 (to meet) + ~러 가다 form

외로움의 정원에 핀
너를 닮은 꽃
주고 싶었지
바보 같은 가면을 벗고서

외로움의 정원에 핀 = A flower that resembles you

  • 외로움의: 외로움 (loneliness) + 의 particle
  • 정원에: 정원 (garden) + 에 particle
  • 핀: 피다 (to bloom) conjugated in Noun-describing form

너를 닮은 꽃 = Blossomed in this garden of loneliness

  • 너를: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 닮은: 닮다 (to resemble) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 꽃: flower

주고 싶었지 = I wanted to give it to you

  • 주고 싶었지: 주다 (to give) + ~고 싶다 form conjugated in Past Tense + ~지 ending

바보 같은 가면을 벗고서 = As I take off this stupid mask

  • 바보: stupid
  • 같은: 같다 (to look like…) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 가면을: 가면 (mask) + 을 particle
  • 벗고서: 벗다 (to take off) + ~고서 form

But I know
영원히 그럴 수는 없는 걸
숨어야만 하는 걸
추한 나니까

영원히 그럴 수는 없는 걸 = This can’t go on forever

  • 영원히: forever
  • 그럴 수는 없는 걸: 그렇다 (as such) + ~ㄹ 수 없다 form + 는 particle + ~은/는 것 form + 를 particle

숨어야만 하는 걸 = I must hide

  • 숨어야만 하는 걸: 숨다 (to hide) + ~야만 하다 form + ~은/는 것 form + 를 particle

추한 나니까 = Because I’m ugly

  • 추한: 추하다 (ugly) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 나니까: 나 (I, me) + ~니까 form

난 두려운 걸
초라해
I’m so afraid
결국엔 너도 날 또 떠나버릴까
또 가면을 쓰고 널 만나러 가

난 두려운 걸 = I’m afraid

  • 난: 나 (I, me) + 는 particle
  • 두려운 걸: 두렵다 (scared) + ~은/는 걸 form

초라해 = So pathetic

  • 초라해: 초라하다 (pathetic) conjugated in Casual Present Tense

결국엔 너도 날 또 떠나버릴까 = In the end, will you leave me too?

  • 결국엔: 결국 (in the end) + 에 particle + 는 particle
  • 너도: 너 (you) + 도 particle
  • 날: 나 (I, me) + 를 particle
  • 또: again
  • 떠나버릴까: 떠나다 (to leave) + ~버리다 form + ~ㄹ까 form

또 가면을 쓰고 널 만나러 가 = So I’m putting on a mask to go see you

  • 또: again
  • 가면을: 가면 (mask) + 을 particle
  • 쓰고: 쓰다 (to wear, to use) + 고 connecting particle
  • 널: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 만나러 가: 만나다 (to meet) + ~러 가다 form

할 수 있는 건
정원에
이 세상에
예쁜 너를 닮은 꽃을 피운 다음
니가 아는 나로 숨쉬는 것
But I still want you
I still want you

할 수 있는 건 = What I can do is

  • 할 수 있는 건: 하다 (to do) + ~ㄹ 수 있다 form + ~는 것 form + 는 particle

정원에 = To make a pretty flower

  • 정원에: 정원 (garden) + 에 particle

이 세상에 = That resembles you

  • 이: this
  • 세상에: 세상 (world) + 에 particle

예쁜 너를 닮은 꽃을 피운 다음 = Blossom in this garden, in this world

  • 예쁜: 예쁘다 (pretty) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 너를: 너 (you) + 를 particle
  • 닮은: 닮다 (to resemble) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 꽃을: 꽃 (flower) + 을 particle
  • 피운 다음: 피우다 (to make bloom) + ~ㄴ/은 다음(에) form

니가 아는 나로 숨쉬는 것 = Then breathe as the person you know

  • 니가: 너 (you) + 가 particle
  • 아는: 알다 (to know) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 나로: 나 (I, me) + 로 particle
  • 숨쉬는 것: 숨쉬다 (to breathe) + ~는 것 form

어쩌면 그때
조금만
이만큼만
용길 내서 너의 앞에 섰더라면
지금 모든 건 달라졌을까

어쩌면 그때 = Maybe back then

  • 어쩌면: maybe
  • 그때: back then, that moment

조금만 = If I had just

  • 조금만: just a little bit

이만큼만 = A little more courage

  • 이만큼만: 이만큼 (this much) + 만 particle

용길 내서 너의 앞에 섰더라면 = And stood before you

  • 용길 내서: 용기를 내다 (take courage) + ~어서 form
  • 너의: your
  • 앞에: 앞 (front) + 에 particle
  • 섰더라면: 서다 (to stand) + ~었더라면 form

지금 모든 건 달라졌을까 = Would everything be different now?

  • 지금: now
  • 모든 건: 모든 것 (everything) + 는 particle
  • 달라졌을까: 다르다 (different) + ~지다 form conjugated in Past Tense + ~ㄹ까 form

난 울고 있어
사라진
무너진
홀로 남겨진 이 모래성에서
부서진 가면을 바라보면서
And I still want you

난 울고 있어 = I’m crying

  • 난: 나 (I, me) + 는 particle
  • 울고 있어: 울다 (to cry) + ~고 있다 form

사라진 = At this sandcastle

  • 사라진: 사라지다 (to disappear) conjugated in Noun-describing form

무너진 = That’s disappearing

  • 무너진: 무너지다 (to fall down) conjugated in Noun-describing form

홀로 남겨진 이 모래성에서 = And breaking down

  • 홀로: alone
  • 남겨진: 남겨지다 (to remain) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 이: this
  • 모래성에서: 모래성 (sand castle) + 에서 particle

부서진 가면을 바라보면서 = As I look at this broken mask

  • 부서진: 부서지다 (to be shattered) conjugated in Noun-describing form
  • 가면을: 가면 (mask) + 을 particle
  • 바라보면서: 바라보다 (to stare) + ~면서 form

Congratulations! You finished this lesson! I hope you enjoyed today’s Korean lesson. In case you have any suggestions, feel free to tell me in the comments!

Good luck on your language-learning journey!

--

--

Laís K. Sakurai

Creativity Obsessed & Passionate about Education, based in Brazil. Instagram: @kaoskray