Your Guide to Onboarding into Web3 as a Developer

Riri
4 min readOct 25, 2022

--

Web3 is the web’s future, and it has recently received a lot of attention. Many individuals, from developers to writers to designers to product managers, have developed careers in the space because of its potential.

A key feature of Web3 is the quality of education it provides.

I recently entered the Web 3 space as a developer (I did know some JavaScript), but I struggled to understand some of its terminologies. I asked, "What's the difference between Web2 and Web3?"
What exactly is a blockchain? What is an NFT, exactly?

This article may be helpful for someone looking to do the same. I've learned quite a bit, and I'm still learning.

Learn the basics

When you learn about Web3, it may be tempting to jump right in and explore various frameworks and tools. That was exactly what I did when I started, which was overwhelming.

If you're new to the web3 space, as I am, it is essential to take some time and learn the fundamentals and practice. This would give you more context and strengthen your foundation.

A helpful source for learning the basics of Web3 is LearnWeb3.

It is a great platform to learn Web3 for free, including particular guided paths for all types of experienced developers, from freshmen to seniors. They cover all the topics based on programming, smart contracts, and NFTs.

It helped me to understand the ecosystem and how to build on it.

Find a learning pattern that works for you.

While learning Web3, we consume a lot of information-significantly posts on social media.

They often describe a particular pattern or roadmap to follow during the learning process (sometimes it’s helpful). However, it is important to avoid comparing this progress with yours.

You get frustrated because it seems like others are making further progress than you.

Well, this was me. Instead of identifying what works for me, I compared my progress with others. I hope you don't make the same mistakes as me.

Finding a system that works for you is hard, and transitioning to a new career can be challenging. These things take time. Don't complicate your learning process by trying to match up with others.

To be successful, you need to do what works for you. I work best at night, and some people produce their best work in the morning. Some like Bootcamp, while others prefer being self-taught. Instead of doing what everyone else is doing, why not find a pattern that works for you and explore it?

Enjoy the process

Over time, new ideas will emerge, and to keep up with the latest trends and evolve with them, you must never stop learning.

Learning to enjoy the process is essential for staying motivated and inspired. If you want to enjoy the process, you should have a "why" that motivates you to continue regardless of the outcome.

Sometimes I lose motivation, especially when things get tough, but I remind myself of why I started in the first place.

You should create a routine you enjoy and stick to it until it becomes second nature. Also, remember that this is a marathon, not a sprint, so take your time and enjoy every minute of it.

Avoid overworking yourself. You can learn at your own pace. It becomes easier as you progress.

Join a community

Getting into Web3 may seem overwhelming at first, but there are a bunch of welcoming communities to make your journey easier.

The goal of Web3 communities, like any other community, is to allow members to share knowledge, learn something new, and solve problems. In other words, to create a space that is welcoming for everyone.

You should leverage the opportunities this community provides as a developer, from having more experienced developers mentor you to sharing knowledge, confidence-boosting, and career opportunities.

"Alone, we can do so little; together we can do so much." Hellen Keller.

I have created a list of some active

communities to be part of.

Developer DAO
Learnweb3
Web3 Afrika
Women in Web3
Polygon Community
Ethereum. Org
Buildspace
Alchemy
Web3 University

Conclusion

In this article, I discussed transitioning into Web3 as a developer and shared my experience and some useful resources to help you get started in the ecosystem.

Before making the switch, I should have specified which programming language you should be familiar with. To begin, simply understand any object-oriented programming language and learn the fundamentals of computer science and be willing to learn.

Most importantly, don't forget to join a community and keep up with industry trends.

Happy coding💙

--

--

Riri

Exploring the Future of Technology | Web3 Writer & Marketer