“Dear Lori”: Did Your White Friend Ever Respond to Your Post About his White Privilege Question?

Lori Lakin Hutcherson
3 min readOct 8, 2020
My Black Answers to Even More Questions About White Privilege

Before I answer today’s query, I need to thank everyone for all the positive feedback on my debut Dear Lori column. I appreciate the responses, the encouragement and yes, the new questions! I plan to answer them as soon as I can.

Now, I’ll get to the number-one, hands-down, most-popular question I’ve been asked for over four years ever since my original 2016 post about Jason’s white privilege Facebook question to his Black and biracial friends…

[All letters are published verbatim and without corrections. Only the names have been changed.]

Dear Lori:

Hi! I just read your article about the facebook post. I GOTTA know if the white friend responded and if so, what did he say? Would you mind making a post/article about that? LeKeisha

Dear LeKeisha:

Thank you for writing in! You are far from alone in wanting to know if Jason responded and if so, what he said. There’s a reason why I’ve never really answered that question until today though — I didn’t have one.

Well, not a good one, at least in my estimation. Because the only response from Jason I ever saw was an indirect…

--

--

Lori Lakin Hutcherson

Film & TV Writer/Producer, Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Good Black News, Music Lover, DJ, Humor Seeker