Does success equal money?

“Money never made a man happy yet, nor will it” — Benjamin Franklin

Lampa.AI
3 min readApr 14, 2022
Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Next time you arrive at work, divide your colleagues into two categories: more and less successful. Most likely, you will do it swiftly and without hesitation: this person is paid more and has a higher position, indicating that he is successful, while the other has been stuck in the same place for ten years and receives an average salary; hence, he is less successful.

But how would you categorize yourself?

“Well, I don’t make that much money, but it’s enough for my experience and living costs. I consider myself to be successful.”

Or maybe so?

“Sure, I earn more than others, but I’m sick of this job… I always wanted to be an artist.”

Or so?

“I am not here for the money. I actually like my job; it allows me to be an intriguing individual while not interfering with my personal life too much. What else does one need?”

Many things come up during your self-categorization, and it’s not all that straightforward.

The reality is that there are two kinds of professional success: objective and subjective.

Objective success is determined by comparing a person’s career to social norms regarding salary, job level, promotion history, or professional status.

Subjective success is how you see yourself; the self-evaluation and experience of a person in achieving personally significant career results. It is quantified as a multidimensional assessment of career factors such as growth and development, personal life, and authenticity.

Interestingly, psychologists who studied how objective success is affected by subjective success (or vice versa) have discovered minor to no correlation between the two.

This profoundly contradicts our capitalistic viewpoint! Turns out that money doesn’t have much to do with happiness?

Such a simple truth, but one that is hard to acknowledge in the mind of a modern person who works for the sake of promotion, expecting to feel more successful and happy. However, that is not the case.

Why do I even need this nonsensical, subjective success? I would rather be rich, and everything else will be fine!

Money and promotion opportunities may make you successful in the eyes of others, but they will not improve your perception of yourself. If you don’t feel like you are thriving right now, a high salary will not help because the issue isn’t the number of digits that enter your bank account each month.

Do not believe those who promise to make you feel successful by making you rich: they will make you chase after your own shadow.

Following a passion and having self-confidence allows you to set clear goals and take actions that will transform your identity and form a “complete person.” It is critical to understand what you are doing and why you are doing it. Otherwise, all of your hard work and accomplishments will remain in the eyes of other people, and you will not feel any different or successful.

Check yourself by asking yourself the following questions:

  • Does my job give me the freedom to pursue my own notions of success, morality, beauty, and justice?
  • Do I believe my employment helps me grow as an individual?
  • Am I pursuing my own goals?
  • Am I proud of my accomplishments?

Is there a universal formula for happiness and success?

Of course, there isn’t. Simply be more aware of yourself and your aspirations, and strive toward them. You will then feel more successful, and a successful person will undoubtedly find the money.

By the way, using Lampa.ai makes it easier to identify and pursue professional objectives. Please visit Lampa.ai or drop us an email at hello@lampa.ai.

--

--

Lampa.AI

A platform for career development based on AI and scientific psychology. It provides personalized practices for off-job and on-job development.