Cyber Patriot Round 2 Baby!

Silver
3 min readDec 12, 2018

A reflection about my experience with Cyber Patriot round 2.

LINK: Image representing Cyber Patriot.

My Team’s Score:

Long story short, our team died. We went into this thinking that it would be easy like round 1, but we were wrong. My team did mediocre on Windows 8.1 and 10, but we did pretty bad on Linux and Networking. For networking, we only got 2 out of 10 of the questions correctly. We only got about 57 out of 100 for Linux. I was working on Windows 8.1 and some of Windows 10. I was able to get 84 points for Windows 8.1 and we got about 66 points for Windows 10. Overall, we did not do as good as in round 1, but we did do better than I thought we would.

Was it enjoyable?

LINK: Gif showing that it was fun and boring at the same time.

I spent 6 hours doing Cyber Patriot just like in round one, but for some reason, this was not as enjoyable. I had fun talking and working with friends, but the overall mood in the room felt not as good as in round one. People did not talk to each other or laughed as much, but it was still somewhat enjoyable. I think that the mood may have been different because of the increase in difficulty. People were probably not in a good mood because of how much harder it was compared to round two. All of us got lower scores than we did in round one.

I still did have some fun though. We made some jokes, ate good food, and helped each other out when needed. We even danced a little when we started to play some good music. Of course, our great teacher provided us with some yummy food to fill our bellies, which made the mood in the class a bit brighter. Overall, I still had a great time.

My Thoughts On The Next Round:

LINK: Image to bring my team good luck!

I’m honestly scared for the next round. The increase in difficulty from round one to round two was pretty big, so I’m expecting this upcoming round to be way harder. I feel like its still going to have simple stuff like changing user’s passwords and stuff, but it will probably have things that I never even though about on it.

I’m going to make a guess and say that at most, my team will only get about 50 points on each ISO. We probably will do really bad on the networking part like always. I just hope that we can prepare enough to do better than I expect we will. Wish us good luck.

___________________________________________________________________

Thanks for taking your time to read my blog :)

If you have more time, check out my other blogs in the links down below.

--

--