My Experience With PostgreSQL

Silver
4 min readDec 3, 2018

--

A short blog about what PostgreSQL is, why my class is using it, and what I think about it so far.

Image result for PostgreSQL
Link: Image of PostgreSQL logo.

What Is PostgreSQL?

PostgreSQL is a free open source object-relational database system. It uses the SQL language and it has many features. It is mainly used to safely store data workloads, such as data tables. It was developed in 1986 at the University of California at Berkeley. It is widely known for its architecture, reliability, data integrity, robust feature set, extensibility, and its strong open source community to constantly give it support. Another great thing PostgreSQL has is its ability to work on all major operating systems such as Windows and Linux.

Why Is My Class Using PostgreSQL?

As I stated before, PostgreSQL can be used to store data such as data tables. My class is new to PostgreSQL, so we are mainly just using it as practice by creating data tables with rows and columns. We are also using it to practice accessing databases by using serverless commands and axios to input the data tables we created onto a website. In the end, we are going to have to do a project for the end of the year, so I’m assuming that we are practicing PostgreSQL because it will be needed for that end of the year project.

LINK: A painting of Greenland.

An example of what we did with PostgreSQL so far, it a mini art museum. We used PostgreSQL to make a data table with the name of Kelii’s Art Museum. We added 4 different paintings into it. Each painting had a name, artist, ID, location, and date. One of my paintings was called Greenland made by Kelii in 1989 at Greenland University. It was more of a fun activity, so my friends and I made a bunch of funny painting names and just had a fun time in the process. It got us more comfortable with PostgreSQL commands, so it was a very educational lesson.

How Do I Feel About PostgreSQL So Far?

LINK: Friends make learning fun :)

I do not have a lot of experience with PostgreSQL at the moment, but the experience I got so far was pretty enjoyable. The reason why I find it so enjoyable, it because I am learning it with friends and we can kind of mess around while learning it. My teacher is also making the lesson fun by going along with our jokes such as the names of our data table. The whole classroom had a happy vibe when we were learning PostgreSQL, so that just made the whole experience 100 times better. Without all the fun, I feel like I would not of enjoyed learning PostgreSQL as much as I did.

I do think that PostgreSQL is extremely useful though. I can already see the uses of it just from my small amount of experience with it. I hope that we will continue to use it and learn even more from it because it is something that I will probably need to know in the future. As I said before, I think that my end of the year project might require the use of PostgreSQL, which I’m looking forward to, but I’m not 100% sure if it will or not.

LINK: I got bad memory…

The only thing I don’t really like about it is all the commands you need to remember. You could say that about a lot of things though, so it might not be a valid reason to not like it. I just generally have bad memory, so I don’t like having to remember a lot of commands. Other than that, there is no real reason for me to not like PostgreSQL, so I hope that I will continue to enjoy it as I continue to gain experience with it. I will try hard to remember as much as I can to keep improving!

___________________________________________________________________

Thanks for taking your time to read my blog :)

If you have more time, check out my other blogs in the links down below.

--

--