Wrapping Up My Outreachy Internship

Tamnjong Larry Tabeh
4 min read3 days ago

--

As my Outreachy internship comes to a close, I find myself reflecting on the journey with a sense of gratitude. What began with a mix of excitement and fear has turned into a rewarding experience that has shaped my skills, confidence, and passion for open-source contributions.

Overcoming Initial Fears

When I first started, I had some doubts and fears — among them was whether I would fit into the open-source community, I worried that my skills might not translate well to user research, an area I was eager to explore but had limited experience in. However, those fears quickly disappeared as I got myself into the supportive and inclusive GNOME community. I learned that the community values diverse contributions and that there is always room for growth and learning.

Highlights of the Internship

This internship has been a significant period of growth for me. I’ve developed a stronger understanding of user research methodologies, particularly the importance of crafting neutral questions to avoid bias. This was a concept I encountered early in the internship, and it has since become a cornerstone of my research approach. Additionally, I’ve sharpened my ability to analyze and interpret user feedback, which will be invaluable as I continue to pursue UI/UX design.

Beyond technical skills, I’ve also grown in terms of communication. Learning how to ask the right questions, listen actively, and engage with feedback constructively has been crucial. These skills have given me the confidence to interact more effectively within the open-source community.

Mentorship and Project Achievements

My mentors, Allan Day and Aryan Kaushik played a critical role in my development throughout this internship. Their guidance, patience, and willingness to share their expertise made a great difference. They encouraged me to think critically about every aspect of the user research process, helping me to grow not just as a researcher, but as a contributor to the open-source community.

As for my project, I’m proud of the progress I’ve made. I successfully conducted a series of user research exercises and gathered insights that will help improve the usability of some GNOME Apps. However, my work isn’t finished yet — I’m currently in the process of finalizing the usability research report. This report will be a little resource for the GNOME design team, providing detailed findings and recommendations that will guide future improvements.

Throughout this journey, I’ve leaned heavily on the core values I outlined at the start of the internship: Adventure, Contribution, and Optimism. These values have been my compass, guiding me through challenges and reminding me of the importance of giving back to the community. The adventure of stepping into a new field, the joy of making meaningful contributions, and the optimism that every challenge is an opportunity for growth — these principles have been central to my experience.

Reflecting on My Core Values

As I wrap up my time with Outreachy, I feel both proud of what I’ve learned and excited for what lies ahead. I plan to continue my involvement in open-source projects. The skills and confidence I’ve gained during this internship will undoubtedly serve me well in future projects. Additionally, inspired by the mentorship I received, I hope to help mentor others and help them navigate their journeys in open-source contributions.

Finally, this internship has been a transformative experience that has expanded my skill set, deepened my passion for user-focused design, and strengthened my commitment to open-source work. I’m grateful for the opportunity and look forward to staying connected with the GNOME community as I continue to grow and contribute.

--

--