How to design award-winning websites

A list of things to keep in mind when designing great, engaging digital experiences

Lasse Kristensen
7 min readAug 25, 2015

--

As a FWA (Favourite Website Awards) jury member, I get to see a ton of great, engaging web experiences from some of the best digital talents in the industry. Although there is no secret trick to winning a website award, I still think there are some rules of thumb to keep in mind, that will yield a clear, value-driven site with a great user experience and engaging content that will make your site memorable and make people go “Hey, check out this site”.

In this article, I’ve gathered some thoughts on what I personally think makes up a great digital experience and what motivates me to vote yes for a site to receive a FWA award. While I know there is more to life than design awards, I still think it’s great to have organizations like FWA, D&AD, Webby and Awwwards recognize projects where the teams behind went that extra mile in order to push their digital product and ultimately our craft a little further. In a way, it’s…

--

--

Lasse Kristensen

UX/UI designer. Passionate about the possibilities of digital products to transform the world. Chock-full of positive energy. http://www.lassekristensen.co