How to Detox from Your Ex-Boyfriend: Part One.

Michelle DeSpain
4 min readFeb 12, 2016

--

Are you a heartbroken hot mess?

I’m sorry. As the J. Geils Band once sang, “Love stinks. Yeah, yeah.”

If he broke up with you, you’re better off without him. He obviously doesn’t understand how truly remarkable you are.

Or perhaps you were the one who kicked his under-achieving, unappreciative arse to the curb.

Good for you, sister! That takes a lot of courage. You did the right thing.

Whatever your situation, heartbreak hurts. Badly.

O.k. Let’s be brutally honest here.

Heartbreak is excruciating.

Once again, you bravely opened yourself up to possibility and promise.

Once again, you courageously exposed your vulnerability and shared your innermost desires with another.

Once again, you believed in true love.

Only to have your hopes and dreams shattered, your heart ripped to shreds.

You wonder if your heart will ever mend. You question if it’s even possible to put all of your broken pieces back together again. You’re quickly losing hope as you slide into the quicksand of despair.

You can’t sleep. You can’t eat. (Or you eat too much.) You can’t stop breaking down into crying sessions of theatrical proportions.

As if the physical and emotional anguish are not enough, you torture yourself mentally as well. You lose focus at work because you’re fixating on your ex-boyfriend, the break-up, and what went wrong. You torment yourself with any or all of these obtrusive thoughts:

  • What did I do wrong?
  • Am I too picky? Are my standards too high?
  • Why is everyone in a relationship except for me?

And then the grandmother of all fears shows up, just for maximum freak out value.

Mirror, mirror on the wall. What’s my greatest fear of all?

Your greatest fear is that you’ll never be able to find love ever again. You’ll turn into a crazy, jaded old woman like your Great Aunt Ethel and be alone forever.

Eeeek. Now that would really stink. Yeah, yeah.

How do I know all of these things? No, I am not a mind reader. And no, I’ve never met your Great Aunt Ethel.

I understand your anguish because I’ve hobbled along in your distressed shoes one too many times.

Yet, despite repeated heartbreak, I am a hopeful romantic who still believes in love.

Either I am completely delusional, or there is a secret method to my madness.

What if you could turn your heartbreak into a powerful, soulful adventure full of hope and renewal?

Once upon a time, not too long ago…

After spending yet another dark and wretched night in the fetal position on the bathroom floor, I vowed that I would never again waste my precious time and energy grieving the loss of a man who wasn’t worthy of my beautiful, open heart!

The next morning, The Ex-Boyfriend Detox was born.

Healing myself from the inside out jumped to the top of my priority list.

Within three weeks, I noticed a shift. I felt like a new and improved version of myself. This was a much shorter time frame than my usual stretch of misery for months on end.

And it was happening during the disintegration of The Most Epic Romance of My Life! (My ex was an Italian. Who lived in Italy. The whole thing was very Under the Tuscan Sun.)

Would you like to know exactly how I bounced back so quickly from my Under the Tuscan Sun heartbreak*?

To be continued…

*The actual heartbreak took place at The Italian’s home away from home in the French Alps.

Yep. My heart broke in one of the most fairy tale, picturesque places in the world.

I told you it was epic.

And now for the big news that I mentioned last week

The Ex-Boyfriend Detox: 3 Power Moves to Cleanse Him from Your Heart, Soul and Psyche e-book is here! I’m really proud of it. I honestly think that the book and the corresponding e-course are the best things I’ve ever written. You can download your free copy here.

If you’d like to register for The Ex-Boyfriend Detox: Cleanse Him from Your Heart, Soul and Psyche in 21 Days or Less e-course, I’m running a Singles Awareness Day Special of $99 — that’s 50$ off the regular price! (Yes, Singles Awareness Day is a semi-real holiday.) The special expires February 15th at 11:59 p.m. MST. To receive your special pricing, please use the code: singles awareness day.

If you’re significantly-othered, then please share this with a friend in need of a little tender loving soul care.

This article first appeared over at The Late Bloomer Revolution. It’s really colorful and interesting over there. You’re welcome to stop by any time.

Michelle DeSpain, Prima Bloggerina and Fearless Leader of The Late Bloomer Revolution

There is nothing more beautiful than women flipping our youth-obsessed society the bird and embracing their wildest dreams no matter what their age. Come join us. It’s free, and you’ll receive groovy welcome gifts by signing up here.

--

--

Michelle DeSpain

Former Prima Bloggerina. Lifelong Learner. Note: This is an archived page.