In the shadow of Berta Cáceres

Environmental activists in Honduras know there may be a bullet for them like there was for Berta. And they keep fighting.

Latterly
33 min readDec 3, 2018

By J. Malcolm Garcia in San Pedro Sula, Honduras

12 p.m., July 8, 2016. San Pedro Sula, Honduras. Interview with Father Cesar Espinoza, a friend of Berta Cáceres. He has received death threats for his anti-mining stance.

“You don’t look like a man under threat.”

“How should such a man look?”

I don’t answer. I have no idea. I only have my imagination and movie images to go by. Jumpy, nervous, I suppose.

“You’re calm,” I say finally. “Very calm.”

“What would you have me be?”

Again, I don’t answer. Espinoza wipes his forehead with a bottle of water. He uncaps it, takes a sip and sighs.

Nightmares, Espinoza says, plague his sleep. He wakes up sweating. He has not sought therapy. That is a luxury he cannot afford. For a while, he broke down in tears in the middle of mass. He had backaches and headaches. That may be from age.

“Do I go about my life shaking in my boots? No, but if I’m driving and a car comes too close I am scared.”

--

--