--

Because of the money attached to writing on Medium, I think a lot of people will choose to use AI as a way to quickly generate content and try to get more views, reads, etc. Maybe the algorithm can start to filter this stuff out, I dunno. But it's disappointing for me as a reader to click on something and discover it's content that's being passed off as the writer's original work, when really it's not.

I sometimes write poetry that uses found text, but I identify the text as such when I do it. If people are going to use AI-generated content, I hope it will be identified as such. I think computer-generated content can be an interesting starting point for creating new work, and I've read a lot of poems that do this--but the authors say that they are starting with generated text.

--

--

Amanda Laughtland

Poet, teacher, & zinester. I started The DIY Diaries because I love to read about DIY ideas and projects; I invite you to send us your stories!