The Top 5 Things I Forgot When I Moved to a New Country

Laura Albrecht
4 min readAug 29, 2022

I just moved from the USA to Canada, and here are the top things I regret not having right now, in my empty apartment.

Photo by HiveBoxx on Unsplash

My new city, Montreal, located directly north of New York and Vermont in the province of Quebec, is pretty great — although I’ve only been here about 48 hours. New apartment, new country, new language: it’s a lot to deal with. And as a Type A kind of person, I like to hyper-organize my life and prepare for every eventuality. I thought I had set myself up perfectly to move to Montreal without any hitches or bumps in the metaphorical road.

Boy, was I wrong.

Turns out, you can never prepare for every eventuality when you move as far as I did, across the entire US and then up north into eastern Canada. So here’s the stuff I’m wishing I had organized sooner, the things I’m noticing that I don’t have and that are really inconveniencing me.

1. Wifi

This is the big one. I investigated wifi services before moving but never got around to oragnizing it in advance. And with the type of phone plan I have, I only get 0.5 GB of roaming data in Canada and Mexico (Thanks, Verizon), which isn’t enough to function here every day. After I use it all up, my phone stops loading, well, everything. I can text and call, and that’s about it. When I…

--

--

Laura Albrecht

Writer, musician, grad student @mcgillu, music researcher, and book-lover. “Music is the only truth.” Prism & Pen, Coffee Times. she/her.