Best Ciders Made in the Queen City

The perfect drink for those “I don’t like beer” people.

Laura Barrett
2 min readFeb 17, 2018
Cherry Bobbin’ Trolls and Queen City Common, two of Red Clay’s classic ciders

Red Clay Ciderworks was Charlotte’s very first cidery that opened up in July of 2015. What’s unique about this cidery is that all of their brews are naturally gluten free and are made with fresh apples grown here in North Carolina!

This dog-friendly tasting room has a naturally relaxed feel to it with indoor and outdoor seating. This is a great place to have a drink with friends or get some work done while enjoying a cider.

For those interested in how the magic happens, there are FREE cidery tours Thursday-Sunday with no reservation required. They also have other regular taproom events like trivia every Wednesday and Brunch on Sunday’s.

These Sunday brunches happen on the first Sunday of every month at noon. Food is supplied by Pepperbox Doughnuts and Ole Buddy’s Oinker Express food truck. There are also fresh, brunch-worthy cider cocktails created by Red Clay. Sounds AMAZING.

Red Clay offeres ciders that are great for any time of the year. A cold and refreshing cider like Queen City Common is perfect in the Spring and Summer. Wool Socks my go-to cider for the Fall and Winter. This seasonal cider is made with black currant, cardamom, cinnamon, orange peel, nutmeg, ginger, star anise, allpice and mace. Tastes like Christmas in a cup!

Another seasonal favorite of mine is a mulled cider that is served warm in a mug with a cinnamon sugar rim. It makes me want to curl up with some fuzzy socks in front of the fire on a cold day.

Now Red Clay doesn’t just serve ciders, they serve beer and wine as well. They carry local brews from near by breweries. So this place really has it all. Unless you don’t like alcohol, in that case you case you probably shouldn’t go.

You can find Red Clay at most grocery stores and at some local bars. You can also buy a growler of your favorite cider from the tap house and take it home with you.

Alright so that is my spill about Red Clay. Talking about it makes me want to go right now so I think that might be what I am going to do. So Bye!

Oh and don’t forget….

Keep pouring!

Mock Tweet: Got any plans on the first Sunday of the month? Of course you don’t, which is why you should go to Red Clay’s brunch. Read my blog to find out more about Red Clay Ciderworks and their brunch events.

--

--

Laura Barrett

My name is Laura but my close friends call me Larry. I like beer and I am going to use this space to share my unfiltered opinions about the craft beers I try.