The benefits of day trips

Laura Bradford
2 min readJul 9, 2018
Photo by Laura Bradford

Recently, I took a day trip to Boston, about an hour and a half from where I live. Boston is a city I come back to frequently because it’s vibrant, with no end of things to do. I’ve also taken recent day trips to New York City, Hartford, and Worcester.

Summer is the perfect time for day trips, but a lot of people think they have to spend several days or a week in an area to make it worth it. However, day trips have plenty of benefits.

They’re a quick getaway — you don’t have to wait for vacation days at work; you can accomplish a day trip on a weekend or take a single day off.

They’re also inexpensive. You don’t have to worry about paying for airfare, a hotel, and a rental car.

Yet day trips let you take a break and recharge. They can also offer perspective. In a different city, you can try new food and have new experiences.

Day trips also offer great learning opportunities. If you’re willing to travel a bit, you could attend an interesting seminar or class, or visit a museum or historical site.

You can also learn new skills. On my recent trip to Boston, I practiced my photography in a park and on a pier. I don’t usually have the opportunity to take photographs by the ocean, so it was quite interesting.

With a little creativity, even a short trip can leave you with lasting memories and some new knowledge.

--

--