Laura Hunt Manville
2 min readMar 27, 2019

--

I also have ADHD and identify as an HSP (Highly Sensitive Person). Fortunately, I do not have Sensory Processing Disorder. My senses are hightened, I get all the annoying symptoms, but not the point that they are distressing. Except when I get overstimulated by noise. I think part of that is because I’m an introvert and I have tinnitus that is quite severe. So yes, too much noise is an issue with me.

I could not tolerate the stimulant medications myself. I am on a non-stimulant called Strattera. It works very well. I went from having my brain racing with 1,000 thoughts a minute down to one. I felt like I was going nuts before I got on meds. I have NO idea how I functioned like that for so long. I also had very serious insomnia for years, as in over a decade. I wasn’t getting REM sleep. When I started dreaming again, fat I’d held on my body for oh, hmmmm…. twenty years or so…. started melting off my body. It wasn’t much, but it was in places I noticed and I didn’t think I’d EVER lose fat from. You know…. inner thighs, underside of my upper arms, muffintop on my tummy.

ADHD isn’t so bad once you’re medicated. I have to be. Without meds, I’m a TOTAL bitch, lol. I actually went to counseling to figure out why I was so irritable and yelling at people. Then I would forget what I said or why I was mad. That part of it was low blood sugar. Ok, I worked on that, but I was still irritable all the time. I never realized why I was so pissed off all the time until I took my first stimulant. Then suddenly…. my head got quiet. OMG!! I COULD THINK!!!! I sat there in the quiet and thought about thinking. I actually heard myself thinking for the first time in…. omg, YEARS instead of 1,000 different things at once. It was SUCH a relief, I took the biggest breath I could, sighed…… and let out all that irritation I’d been holding in. I was irritated because my MIND couldn’t DEAL with all that TRAFFIC!! I can’t even describe what it was like. A mess. Like space with a bunch of things flying around and nothing controlling them. And all of those things were my thoughts!! Every night I’d lay there trying to fall asleep, never able to shut my brain down. I still have trouble with that, it is almost 2 a.m. I’m good, I got meds to turn it off. I’m still thinking one thought at a time. It’s AWESOME!! I could entertain myself for DECADES with this brain!! Yep. My hyperactivity is in my brain, lol.

I usually make more sense than this. Really. I swear.

L😽🐾

--

--

Laura Hunt Manville

INTJ, empath, lightworker, musician, autodidact, polymath, growth mindset, spiritual, psychology, philosophy, law, politics, mental health, enlightenment