Embrace Being Cringe To Be Free

It’s easy to judge people who are doing the things you wish you were brave enough to do.

Laurel Sibanda
3 min readMar 15, 2024
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

I posted this in August 2022, but I wanted to reshare it after I came across a video from a creator on TikTok talking about how her old coworkers found her online and were calling her cringe for being a content creator.

One person’s cringe is another person’s bravery.

Recently I realised how much I hate the word “cringe”.

But I’m self-aware enough to understand it’s definitely because of my own internalised cringe-self. The one who knows that a lot of things I do and say would probably be considered cringe. Like how my daily self-care routine is serious dancing in my room (currently to Beyonce’s Renaissance album), or how I choose to spill my guts using poetry. Or maybe the crystals I wear in my bra to protect my energy and attract positive experiences.

But really, I feel like creators are outliers and we’re destined to be somewhat cringe.

You can’t be a creator without conquering your fear of being considered embarrassing.

Because what is cringe if not the things that we see other people doing or saying we wish we had the courage to do?

--

--

Laurel Sibanda

Here to be honest. Mostly writing about healing work, spirituality, self-love, love and all other human lessons and blessings. https://linktr.ee/laurelwriter