Why You Need To Dream Big When It Comes to Real Estate

Lauren Dominick
3 min readApr 18, 2018

--

Ever since I was young I had an idea of the house and neighborhood I wanted to live in later on in life. There have been a lot of bumps in the road that have worried me at times, but I never lost track of what I was aiming for.

When I ask people where they see themselves in five years they typically don’t have a concrete answer for me. No, I’m not talking about what damn position you plan to have within your company at that time. I’m referring to the actual location and living situation that you plan to be in. Are you staying here in the area? Are you going somewhere else? Are you living in an apartment or in a house? You would be absolutely SHOCKED at how many people say to me, “I haven’t really thought about that.”

If this is you it is okay, but things need to change. You need to start thinking about these things everyday of your life, until you actually get there. Today, there are so many ways to purchase your first home and you need to be aware of all the options out there.

Even if have already purchased your first home and you want to look into purchasing your first investment property, the possibilities are endless. You can turn a small buy and hold property that you rent out to a few college kids into a whole real estate empire in twenty years if you think strategically, are willing to take risks at time and always continue to move forward.

Homes affect everyone.

I always tell my clients that the three most important things are family/friends, your career/passion for living and your home. Why wouldn’t you set goals to get the dream home that you want someday? This is in the top three most important aspects of your life.

I see people settle with renting all the time. I’m not saying that renting is always settling, but some people just assume that they are never going to be able to own their own home. They have given up on that dream a long time ago. I then ask these very same people, how many mortgage officers did you talk to? How many real estate agents have you worked with? Typically, there answer is one of each or sometimes NONE. They haven’t talked to anyone about their current situation and their needs. All they did was make assumptions.

Don’t give up before you have even started. Talk to different people in the industry. Be honest about your situation. You can’t be afraid to ask for help or guidance. We are here to serve you and offer value. Move on from anyone that doesn’t provide that for you.

Everybody knows someone that works as a real estate agent or mortgage officer. Typically a friend of a friend or a distant relative. There is no one who believes more in supporting the people that are closest to you in their career than myself, but if this friend of a friend is not guiding you in the right direction then you have to do yourself a favor and reach out to other professionals to get the damn assistance that you need to make your dreams come true.

Some people focus on the short-term goals. Not me. I focus on long-term goals for both myself and my clients. And I want you to respect yourself and do the same. No one is going to do that for you.

--

--

Lauren Dominick

REALTOR® specializing in Fairfield County Connecticut. Creating the lifestyle you always imagined! www.startluxeliving.com