TV star Nathan O’Donnell’s ex-wife spills the beans on the split in an exclusive interview in the new issue of LIFE & STYLE.

Lauren James
2 min readOct 28, 2019

--

Jessica Stempfley, 37, divorced the Loch & Ness actor, 34, in 2003, after a four-year relationship.

“It was mutual,” she says. “We realised how incompatible we were. We were progressing at different rates.”

She reveals that Nathan hadn’t been ready to have kids. He was more focused on the moment, and didn’t like to discuss the future. Jessica also likes to travel, and Nathan is more of a homebody.

Apparently, O’Donnell wooed the Welsh beauty with dick pics and Netflix & chill. “It worked,” she admits. “We hooked up a few days after we met on set [of Silent Watcher]. He asked for my number and texted me the same day.”

She slammed his lack of effort, saying, “He’s always been a right charmer, but it wasn’t like he did much of the housework. Basically he was out in the garage at all hours, tinkering with this awful campervan that never once worked. He used to go for long drives in the country when he wanted to be alone. After he spent ten weeks shooting on location and we didn’t talk at all, we decided to split. Like, none of us dumped the other, it was all fine.”

Afterwards, she was so burned by the divorce that it took her a whole year to recover enough to date again. She’s now happily married to a director, with twin boys (7).

Jessica revealed that she wasn’t salty that the pair were no longer an item. “It’s not like Nathan is ‘the one that got away’. I don’t want to sound like I’m bashing him. I have some great memories. The break-up was hell, but I had a lot of fun with him. I don’t regret it.”

She is glad that she wasn’t with him at the peak of his fame, saying, “I couldn’t handle dating him now. I value my privacy. It would never have worked.”

She admits that she’s very happy he’s found such success, though. “I see him around sometimes when he’s visiting his mum and sister. We get on fine. I’m glad he’s doing well.”

O’Donnell is currently single, and filming Season 2 of Loch & Ness in LA with co-stars Rob Hennings and Anya Saffitz.

--

--

Lauren James
0 Followers

Lauren James is the author of many novels. She is currently releasing a serialised novel at http://gottiewrites.wordpress.com/