Lauren Gallaway
3 min readNov 30, 2019

Blink-182 and Streamers

Welcome, friends, to a stream of consciousness post.

I’m currently sitting in bed, hot chocolate pipping away on the nightstand, headphones in, Blink-182 rocking on the laptop, waiting for one of my favorite streamers to go live.

It’s almost midnight on Black Friday. Turkey has been eaten, deals have been shopped, and work has been worked. Now begins my holiday weekend. It’s not quite a full two days, because I work on Sunday, but it will do.

As I sit here, I’m caught by just how grown up I feel. I worked a full shift today. I was the only person on the feeds over at IGN. I bought dinner for my family (Thai food, YUM), and I produced a two-hour gaming stream on my family’s Twitch channel Glimpse Games.

This is likely why I am so forking tired. I’m usually wired until 3am, but as midnight approaches, I can barely keep my eyes open.

So, about Blink-182. The songs that I’m listening to right now are touchstones for different seasons of my life. “Girl at the Rock Show” is on now, which came out in 2001. I was 16 and in love. I wasn’t listening to much Blink at the time, but this song still holds some memories. “Carousel” was also playing earlier. That song came out in 1994. I didn’t hear it until 1997, but holy moly do I remember those days. Laying in bed, much like I am now, listening to Blink on my headphones, much like I am now.

So much has changed since those days, and yet I am still the girl sitting on her bed, listening to her favorite music. The bed has improved, of course, as has the listening devices. I’m listening to this on a laptop that doesn’t even have a CD drive. Meanwhile, my first Blink experience was on CD. My friend Nikki bought me Dude Ranch and it was all over. I was a full-blown Blink-182 fangirl after that.

And now about streamers. My favorite streamers are almost entirely Aussies. I adore their accents, their lingo, their joyful attitudes. They are genuine, funny, irreverent, and so entertaining. One of the streamers I just started following, Brodie, is moving to Sydney soon and I am so excited for him. I don’t even know him and yet I’m cheering him on from the sidelines. I know what it’s like to move to a big city, and I’m so excited for what’s next in his life.

So here we are, chilling at midnight, ready to watch Brodie stream and listening to Blink-182. It’s a lit Friday night!

Catch ya,

Lauren*

Lauren Gallaway

Social Media Coordinator for IGN! Lover of punk, ska, superheroes, Star Trek, Disneyland, cozy mystery novels, and good coffee.