Why you need to read, and how to do it efficiently

Lauren Holliday
The Startup
Published in
12 min readJun 11, 2016

--

Reading isn’t just for writers. Reading helps us learn more about our craft — whether it’s marketing, management, engineering or teaching. It sparks new ideas and pushes us forward when we’re in a slump. And best of all, it allows us to think in new ways, and escape the patterns and assumptions of our lives.

Bill Gates, the world’s richest man, says he reads 50 books a year.

When asked the role reading plays in his life, Gates said:

“It is one of the chief ways that I learn, and has been since I was a kid. These days, I also get to visit interesting places, meet with scientists and watch a lot of lectures online. But reading is still the main way that I both learn new things and test my understanding.”

Fitting in reading time is tough. When you have an always-on job and a schedule that won’t quit, it’s easy to say I just don’t have time to read. But picture it as a light jog for your brain: reading will keep you sharp, spur creativity, and foster empathy.

--

--