Meet the Team: Imre Dobos

Lauren Le
3 min readDec 14, 2021

--

To wrap up the year 2021; we have another team member located in Budapest, Imre Dobos! Imre has been here since 2019 working on our “Sites” product.

Imre Dobos

Budapest, Hungary

Tell us a bit about yourself and your team:

I am a software engineer at Hearsay working in a full-stack team. I am more focused on the backend side of the development thanks to my backend background, but in the mean time I am getting familiar with the frontend side as well.

My team’s job is to create a framework which supports establishing sites for our customers. We are responsible for creating and hosting the sites itself and also developing and maintaining user friendly editor to make both admins and customers life easier when it comes to modifying the site. Our product is built on top of AWS, it is an almost fully serverless solution with Python backend and React frontend.

How did you end up at Hearsay?

I was looking for new challenges and then I just saw Hearsay’s job description which made me think that this is the place where I can really learn new things. During the interview process this feeling got more intensive. I was really happy when Akos called me with the offer :)

What is the thing that inspires you at work every day?

To move forward. My goal is at the beginning of the day that by the end of the day I want the product to be a better product and myself to be a better engineer than in the morning. If I learn one thing and make one thing that ends up with a better software product, I am happy with that. And even more happy when these numbers are growing day-by-day.

What advice would you give someone who is just starting their engineering career?

Focus on building something. It does not matter if you have a product idea, or you just want to try out new technologies with copying and existing solution, start a project. It does not have to be very long project, just get something done and working. And yeah, you need to sacrifice some free time.

What is your favorite thing about being on Hearsay engineering?

One of the favorite thing in Hearsay engineering is the freedom that engineers have to solve a problem. You can always have your idea heard and if it is good, we will use that. My other favorite thing is that I would never have thought that I will meet so many so open people when it comes to learning new things.

What makes you excited to be part of Hearsay Engineering right now?

Being at Hearsay for almost 3 years, I can see that there are many opportunities now and in the future in the engineering side, so everyone can be part of new and exciting set of engineering work.

What’s the most challenging aspect of your job?

The most challenging thing is the complexity. Basically our job is a mixed frontend, backend and devops work. It’s challenging to keep up on all side, but in the mean time, this is the best in our job because it is never boring.

What do you do when you’re not working at Hearsay?

When I am not working at Hearsay then I usually spend my free time with some kind of exercises. I like riding my bike, doing functional training and yoga and playing soccer.

Do you have a favorite inspirational quote? Why does that speak to you?

Fortunate, who was able to know the causes of things

About Us

Founded in 2009, Hearsay Systems is reinventing the human-client experience in financial services. Over 200,000 advisors and agents at more than 100 leading global financial firms use our platform to authentically and intelligently grow business relationships, by proactively guiding and capturing the last mile of digital communications. Headquartered in San Francisco, Hearsay has a globally distributed team with members throughout the United States, Toronto, London, Budapest, and Manila.

Interested in growing with us? Check out our job openings here: https://hearsaysystems.com/careers/

--

--