Your Home Batphone

Lauren Leto
2 min readApr 3, 2017

--

My phone is always on silent and I’ve been trying increasingly to turn it off when I’m at home–relying on my ListenMagic module to display messages from high-priority contacts.

However, I often order Seamless or have a specific phone call that I’m waiting for–forcing me to keep my phone on at home.

Not anymore. I hooked up Twilio’s SIP feature to my phone number–now I have the ability to toggle on/off my ‘batphone’–meaning, any calls that come in to my number while I’ve turned my batphone ‘on’ will ring my landline (hooked up to an Obihai OBi200) instead of my cellphone. And when I turn it off, calls go back to my iPhone like normal.

There are some ways I’d like to modify this–looking at a hook to ring home phone when last known SSID for Listen app (if <1hr) matches my home phone SSID. I also am currently using a site to toggle on/off my batphone, and I’d like to instead figure out how to correctly get the button pictured above hooked to GPIO pins on my Raspberry Pi (meant to post w/ button working but haven’t quite cracked it yet and wanted to get this post out).

Phone numbers should work like this. They should be extensible to several different devices with simple ways but smart logic routing between those devices based on how the person needs to be notified. One number with infinite notification paths based on your preferences that balance the importance and timeliness of the inbound contact’s message so that one never needs to ‘check their phone’.

--

--