The challenges working as a female Corrections officer in a men’s prison may surprise you.

Karientjie
6 min readMar 4, 2024

--

Photo by Ye Jinghan on Unsplash

Here’s a Q&A with ‘B’.

As International Women’s Day approaches, communities and organizations globally begin to reflect on their inclusion policies put in place to ensure they are upholding equal rights for all.

Today, more than 50% of staff in Corrections constitute women. This year, the theme of International Women’s Day is ‘Inspire Inclusion’. Inclusivity is critical across all workplace industries, so to hear what it’s like to be a female prison officer in a men’s prison in New Zealand, I chat to ‘B’, as a woman with a fairly unusual occupation.

How long have you been working as a corrections officer?

I’ve been working in Corrections for more than 20 years

20 years is a substantial amount of time. What do you enjoy about your job?
I enjoy working with the people in our care and believe there are ordinary people in prison who fell afoul of the law. I was raised to help people regardless of their background or circumstances, so the belief that everyone deserves a second chance is part of who I am.

What are some of the challenges you experience working in a men’s prison?
Staff safety will always be a challenge for male and female staff alike — This is just the nature of the beast. It’s crucial that we’re constantly aware of our environment in order to assess risk accordingly and within the regulations and rules as set out by the Department to ensure a safe environment for all.

Female staff in particular should possess additional awareness as physically we’re not as strong as our male colleagues although we do just as good a job and in my opinion a better job at times. Another challenge I face as a woman are male as well as female management practices and attitudes where support and assistance may be a shortcoming. As an example, throughout my career, especially when working in a senior role, I’ve experienced resentment from male colleagues having to take instructions from myself.

It can be especially hard when my fellow female officers are not supportive — which creates an overall challenging environment. I feel that female managers choose who they support and are perhaps biased if you’re outspoken, challenging or a new starter. I think no matter what your officer ranking is, support to staff should be all around and fair especially in a challenging environment such as Corrections.

Are there certain strategies you need to consistently employ to protect yourself mentally at work?

I deal with all types of people from society, so being treated badly by inmates is unfortunate but we are geared and trained to handle it. Like swearing and at times plain disrespect. Mentally I prepare for that by constantly staying switched on and bringing a positive mindset. If I am not safe, I cannot look out for my colleague, which is why we buddy-up as our main responsibility is towards the prisoners.

How often are you faced with the threat of physical danger?

Everyday. I need to be aware of my surroundings at all times, including knowing where my colleagues are. I consistently assess the body language of the prisoners. But to do that, I need to get to know them. I do that by communicating with them on a regular basis and I believe establishing some kind of connection is important. Respect is important. I also never make false promises to prisoners in my care/unit.

Have you experienced physical harm?

Yes, I have. On a couple of occasions in fact. In one instance, a prisoner violated regulations after being given a warning multiple times. When I acted upon it, he aggressively leapt at me, sending us both onto the ground, and staff had to constrain him. On another occasion, I was struck in the face with a kitchen item by a prisoner who failed to have their meal.

Tell me about your experience of the staff culture, taking into account internal hierarchies and overall well-being?

Working in a male dominated culture, I find the challenges emerge from poor management or perhaps because of a lack of insight, oversight and sufficient capacity. Do I feel supported? Not always, and I do feel that being a woman of colour exacerbates this. When it comes to getting support from female managers, it is the same as with the men, some of them support you and some do not, which is especially disheartening in a masculine environment where one would expect women to support one another.

On one occasion in my career, and as a newbie in the department, I was ill-treated in front of prisoners and colleagues. I was unsure of what to do after being offered coffee by the officers in the cafeteria, and as soon as their superior walked in, all of them rushed to their stations, leaving me unsure where to go. I was then told by a superior, “Do you think that because you have pretty face you can just stand around?” Her staff did tell me to report it, but I did not. I was left rather shocked and didn’t know what to say because I was fairly new at that stage.

Do you provide the same level of treatment to low and high-risk prisoners? I don’t judge them for their crime, because if I did that, I would not be able to do my job successfully. I treat them all with dignity and respect and I expect the same in return. I would expect the same fairness if one of my family members were ever in prison. people if I can just= impact one person life it is a win for the community and all of us — that is where they return to after all.

With all the challenges presented by management, especially the lack of support, what makes you stay in Corrections?

I want to make a difference in someone’s life by supporting them and their whanau, to prepare them to get back into society. It’s not just about the salary or the money. At first it was a job, then it became my career, and after years of working in this industry it’s become my passion. If I can make a positive impact in just one life, it would be worth it.

What advice would you give to young women wanting to pursue a career as a Corrections officer in a men’s prison?

Go for it. Women are tough, after all we give birth to nations. Ask yourself why you want this as a career and what you want to achieve from it. Then, never let anyone tell you that you can’t do it. Set yourself goals and find positive role models in the industry who will support your growth.

What would you suggest people in management positions in this industry implement to improve support for staff?

I would suggest providing mentorship to men and women starting out in the industry. I think it’s important to undertake responsibility to invest in them as in any work environment. Without support to promote psychological well-being, safety and cohesion amongst staff it is so easy to lose focus and commitment to carry on. It remains my objective to do the best I can and make that positive difference in other people’s lives.

Any final thoughts to leave with us ahead of International Women’s Day?

I think we need more woman to show up and stand up for themselves and their fellow female colleagues. We have our own strengths and weaknesses but united we can make the workplace a safer environment for all. We have come a long way; women before us have stood up for us to take up roles we weren’t allowed to access before. This year, not just on Women’s Day but everyday let’s support one another and uplift each other to build a better future. Let yourself rise, let yourself be seen and heard. Be brave and believe in yourself; you can achieve anything if you can apply your mind to it.

“ Yesterday is some, tomorrow has not yet come, We have only today. Let us begin”

--

--