The Top 10! What I will miss most and least.

Laurette Bennhold
2 min readJul 1, 2017

--

In reflecting on my time here, here is a list of things I won’t miss and what I will miss!

10 things I won’t miss:

  1. Kids fighting
  2. Washing my clothes in the shower
  3. Spotty internet
  4. Trash bins next to the toilet
  5. Way too narrow roads for me to drive
  6. Driving for 20 min up hills in first gear
  7. Cigarette smoke
  8. The look of desperation
  9. Barbed wire around the refugee camp
  10. The living conditions

10 things I’ll miss: ( it was hard to come up with only 10)

  1. The refugees especially the kids
  2. The smiles and conversations with adult refugees
  3. Constant appreciation for all that I have
  4. Conversing about the state of refugee affairs globally
  5. The sense of helping however small
  6. Poster-like views of the ocean and sunsets
  7. Olives, baklava, dolmades, stuffed peppers, gyros …
  8. New friends from all over the world
  9. Short term meaningful purpose
  10. Being able to go to a place and a county I can call “home”

--

--