A Successful Turnout for the 2019 Food Truck Round Up

Lauryn J
Lauryntalks
Published in
3 min readApr 3, 2019

Hundreds of people filled the bright streets of Perkins Rowe at the 2019 Food Truck Round Up. Among the eight local food truck businesses, there was a variety of delicious food ranging from sweet treats to homemade burgers along with live music from the band, The Anteeks.

Parking was very convenient and families were able to enjoy the free event in the nice weather that the city had on March 22.

“I came with my mind set on trying Ronnie’s Doughnuts and that was the first truck I went to,” said Hope Achord, a resident of Baton Rouge.

Achord said she was a bit disappointed with what she got because they didn’t have the popcorn shrimp like she expected them to.

Another attendee, Todd Baker who is a native of Baton Rouge, appreciated the setup of the event and said that he would definitely be back.

He visited Rouge-A-Roux’s which is best known for their homemade Goudin Ball.

“I just made it here and I really like the set up,” said Baker. “I came tonight wanting cajun so I’m in line about to get some of their famous Goudin Balls and a po boy.”

Many guests were excited to try the specialties at the food trucks. A few expectations were met, some were exceeded and others not so much.

“Geaux Cubano was bland and I’m very disappointed. They are known for their black beans and that is what their website displays!” said Georgia native Chris Darnell.

This was not the only business that didn’t serve their specialty food item, but instead was replaced with another food item.

“I had in mind to try the black beans but today they are serving french fries which means they took a shortcut,” Darnell added.

After meeting back with Todd Baker when he tried his food, he raved about how the good the Goudin Balls were and said that he would be visiting Rouge-A-Roux again.

Because of the successful turnout, the lines were extremely long. Todd Baker said the most challenging thing about the event would be standing in the long lines.

“It was really an inviting experience and it was good parking in the garage,” Ancord acknowledged.

Another attendee of the event, Demetria Parker, wanted something a bit more healthy and chose to eat at Fete Au Fete, which is based in New Orleans.

“I chose this place because I wanted a salad and I liked it! Price was affordable so I would go back,” Parker expressed.

Locals and many families from out of state enjoyed the event and look forward to the next Food Truck Round Up with a new lineup of tasty food trucks.

--

--