Dear last decade,

Lava
2 min readJan 2, 2020

--

2010 taught me that it was the last year I really had fun as a kid.

2011 taught me that I would experience feelings I didn’t know existed and made me realize that there’s a negative side to everything happening around me.

2012 taught me I can get sad to the point where my feelings didn’t even make sense. 2012 also taught me that the world was going to end. (If you haven’t noticed, we’re still here so that really freaked me out for some reason)

2013 taught me the beginning of anxiety by transferring to a new school still in my immature phase. 2013 also taught me that living in a new home would be a fresh start to mend the hurting in me.

2014 taught me how to embrace pain and to start being more patient with not only myself, but also with others around me. Thank you braces.

2015 taught me high school was way better than what movies portray. 2015 also taught me that insecurities are a crucial part of life you have to get over in order for you to move forward in the next step of your life.

2016 taught me change. That was many things for me: getting a job, having a new wave of emotions every day, battling a sadness I wouldn’t admit to myself because I see myself as happy, waking up with new stretch marks all over my body, causing me to think about how these new red marks would make me conscious for the rest of my life in the future.

2017 taught me sadness and pressure. In order for you to get over something, you go through something way worse in order to overcome it. You embrace the pain, and you wait patiently until you start to feel the healing.

2018 taught me to finally except change. You won’t be where you are forever. It may feel like that, but take a closer look. Things may still be/feel the same, but emotions and skills advance and take you to another place of committing and being present. Just breathe.

2019 taught me that talking about things more out loud to others will ease the trauma you’ve faced in the past. The past can’t hold you. It made you, it broke you, but it isn’t you anymore. Run away from it.

2020 will teach me how to make better choices. 2020 will teach me how to be more patient, how to love more precisely, how to look after me, how to be more positive in a negative situation, and how to just be free of everything in another way. 2020 will teach me a better way to have fun. 2020 will also be the year I will learn how to skate on ice like a semi-pro.

Thank you for a decade I will never forget. Please be kinder this decade to not only me, but everyone else in the world.

Take care and all the love,

Lava

--

--

Lava

Journalism student at Ryerson University. Very indecisive.