Verse 1: What do I expect?

Arnd Layer
2 min readJun 18, 2015

This should be my last workday without Verse. The plan is that my mailbox should be moved by midnight. So, to procrastinate a bit, I thought I’d write a bit about my expectations.

  • As it is my job to know a lot about IBM collaboration solutions, I don’t expect to be surprised by what I’ll get tomorrow. On the other hand, You can only try out an eMail solution so much. You need to experience in real life with real load in order to really see what it is.
  • I expect not to have all the features from my Notes Client available. Instead, I want to experience a new way to work with eMail / Calendar. I want to change my habits.
  • The new search engine should be of value from day one. This should make putting messages in folders completely unnecessary. I’ll use folders only to move message ot of sight.
  • Then there are the sets, those profile pictures to my favorite communication partners. In the moment, you can only place persons in there. The real fun will begin, when we get the option to add search results or members of a communty in there. I am interested to see the effects, the analytics results have on my work.
  • I expect the calendar bar at the bottom of the screen will make it easier to stay aware of my appointments.
  • And the I’m very interested in experiencing how this modern browser based client will compare to the Notes client, I’ve been using for work related eMail since 1994.

Of course there are lots of other details I’ll be looking into as well. See you on the other side of the firewall.

--

--

Arnd Layer

I am the Competency Leader Web 2.0 & Social Software at IBM Collaboration Solutions - TechSales Germany