evenhanded23
1 min readOct 8, 2016

--

I’m not confusing empathy with approval. I just don’t have much empathy for those who are willfully ignorant. There is ignorance that exists simply because it’s never challenged. How does one respond when one’s ignorance is challenged? Many people do exactly as you describe and defend their ignorance…and rationalize their fears. I’m not one of them. I’ll admit…that makes me unusual. I do want to look at the other side of the argument and if I’m wrong…admit it. Which I have done. And I do not claim to have no biases, as I know I do.

Most people are stuck in their own little world. Yes, that’s your argument. So here’s my question…what good is empathy for them or us? How does our empathy help them? It doesn’t. How does it help us? Understanding that they can’t help themselves. Understanding that free will is an illusion? Pulling them out of their ignorance is a Herculean task. Good luck with that. As for my attitude towards them, yeah…I know what they are, but I have little empathy for them. I’ll reserve that for the victims, not the perpetrators.

--

--