On QR Code Failures

Laura Bloch
3 min readNov 10, 2019

--

This week, I worked on creating a QR code that could direct users to download my AR app. I tried a variety of mediums, but none of them created a code clear enough to be scanned by my phone.

I initially tried digital embroidery, because I want to add more dimension to my mostly-flat project, but the embroidery isn’t precise enough, and the threads between “pixels” had to be cut really close to the fabric so as to not interfere with the image. I wasn’t able to cut the threads as closely as I’d have liked, and I also think that the density of the image wasn’t high enough. Needless to say, the embroidered QR codes I attempted did not scan.

Next, I tried laser-etching the QR codes on canvas. I thought that this would work for sure, but it also didn’t! When I was trying to scan it, I noticed that my phone was registering the holes in the fiber as potential QR code markings, so perhaps I need to use a smoother, less porous fabric.

Finally, I attempted etching the QR code in acrylic. I’m sure I could have gotten this to work if I’d used a colored acrylic or made my QR code larger, but I didn’t like the way that would look, so I attempted it in a thin, clear acrylic. No luck, yet again.

Various types of QR codes: laser-etched onto acrylic, digitally embroidered, laser-etched onto canvas.

My next attempt will be to vinyl-cut a QR code and see if I can get that to work. I’m disappointed, because I really wanted to embroider the QR code. I know it’s possible because I’ve seen Etsy listings for custom-embroidered QR codes. I may reach out to one or two of the Etsy sellers to ask them if they have any tips or tricks.

I’ve also made a bit of progress on the AR app. Now, in addition to showing a button that links to my blog post from Rome, it also shows an array of photos from that trip. Next, I’ll set it up so that only one photo shows at a time and a user can swipe left and right to view other photos.

Screenshot of my AR app when hovering over scooter pin

My to-dos for this week:

  1. Reach out to Etsy sellers to get advice on embroidering QR codes
  2. Vinyl-cut a QR code and see if it scans
  3. Update AR app to allow swiping/scrolling and to look more 3D

Future to-do items:

  1. Add other pins, blog links, and photos to the AR app
  2. Decide on a way to incorporate more digital embroidery (and color!) in the maps
  3. Laser etch the remaining maps
  4. Re-etch my current map on a larger piece with space for a nice border or hem
  5. Incorporate cities I’ve visited that I do not have pins for (perhaps using digitally-embroidered targets?)

--

--

Laura Bloch

Rethinking and reforming education through technology