If You Chase Money and Fame, You’ll Never Be Happy

You’ll never have enough of one or the other.

Laurent Duperval
3 min readSep 25, 2020
Excited man with money falling from the sky. He’s about to fall off a cliff.
Image by StockUnlimited

When I first started speaking publicly and writing, my intention was clear.

I was going to write a bestseller. I would be one of the most sought after speakers in the world. I would be rich and famous, on TV, radio, and the money would pour down on me.

None of it was for the benefit of others. The focus was solely on me.

It could be why I don’t have any of that today.

The trap of incorrect long-term goals

When setting long-term goals, the acronym SMART is often used.

SMART stands for specific, measurable, actionable, realistic, and time-based (there are other definitions, but that’s the one I use).

In SMART goals, there is nothing focused on the other person. Unless you set your “specific” appropriately.

The “measurable” aspect of these goals can lead us on the wrong path. Typically, that often translates to a dollar amount (or pound, or euro, or yen–I’m currency agnostic).

I’m no different from anyone else. I wrote about the planning approach I’m using, and my main goal is financial. All the others are subservient to the financial…

--

--

Laurent Duperval

Bilingual Cybersecurity Copywriter and Certified Content Marketer, I write content that attracts the customers you want. I write it so you don’t have to.