Leah Jackson
4 min readJan 25, 2017

--

Review what you wrote about what you found in Johnston Hall last week. Then look at your notes. Did you miss any details? What are the advantages and disadvantages of writing without looking at your notes?

By not looking at my notes this week and writing about what I found in Johnston Hall last week from memory, I missed several details. Particularly, I missed details about the news story that was in the newspaper I found. My description of what I found tonight was very brief. I think this can be an advantage in media writing, because you don’t want to lose sight of your main point. Getting lost in the details can make your story too wordy. However, I think you do need to look at the important details while deciding what to report on because you could miss necessary pieces of information to make the story complete.

What did you learn from eavesdropping on a classroom?

It’s hard to fully determine what is going on in a classroom without listening in for a while. I only sat outside for a couple of minutes, and while I think it sounded like a Philosophy class lecture, it could have been an English, Theology, or Communication class too. I realized that some of the classes at Marquette overlap in material that is studied.

What’s something you learned from a magazine or newspaper?

I did not know that the MUSG president, Abraham Ortiz, resigned on Monday. I don’t know if I would have learned of this without reading this newspaper.

What is the Marquette Tribune editor in chief doing today?

Steve Aschburner is currently a Senior Writer for NBA.com.

What can you find out about the professor you wrote down from the directory? What have they researched? What are they known for?

Amanda Keeler is the Assistant Professor of Digital Media and Performing Arts at Marquette. It seems that she has done research on the media and television shows, such as Gilmore Girls, and the role of women in The Walking Dead. Based on some student reviews that I read on her, it seems that Amanda really cares about the success of her students, and she knows a lot about film and the media. According to her students, her passion for the industry overflows into her work as a professor.

What did you say in the note you put in a professor’s mailbox? What skills did you learn from this person?

I wrote a note to Dr. Nettleton, and I reminded her of how grateful I am for having had the opportunity to take her class last year and that I have a very fond memory of her class and her teaching. Dr. Nettleton taught me all about what the media says about our society. I was so oblivious to the centers and margins that are created through the media’s portrayal of people before her class, and I feel like I gained the skill of deciphering when media is portraying something in a biased or degrading way.

What did you learn from the student who works in student media?

The girl that I interviewed, Gabby, is a bio-chemistry and molecular biology major. She mentioned how she thinks she is the only one in Marquette Student Media with such a major. I think it is so cool that she decided to expand her involvement on campus to an area of work totally different from the natural sciences.

What alum from the Alumni Hall of Fame inspires you and why?

Chuck O’Neil, who directed The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, inspired me in his memo about his experience at Marquette University. I thought that the way he attributed a lot of his success to the strong Marquette community was very admirable. I was also so encouraged by the high regard he clearly held for his professors and his education at Marquette, especially seeing where his education and aspirations took him to.

What did you see when you visited a new floor in Johnston Hall?

I have never been on the 2nd floor of Johnston Hall because the door to it is usually locked. Fortunately, the door to the floor was opened today. I got to see where Marquette Radio is broadcasted, and I made note of the unique structure and layout that this floor had compared to the other floors. Particularly, the doors to each room lacked windows, which is due to the recording studios inside of those rooms.

What Marquette alumna won a Pulitzer for reporting on AIDs in the Heartland? Now find her interview with Poynter. What is a tip that she shared about paying attention in interviews?

Jacqueline Banaszynski

Jaqueline shared the tip to “think about your entry point to a story as rings of a circle”. Specifically, this means that you should pay attention to what your interviewee is saying and rank the level of importance. The different levels of importance are represented by the rings of the circle.

Embed the tweets you sent to Dean Kimo Ah Yun.

What do you notice when you turned your phone off?

Freedom! Sometimes I get really overwhelmed by having a phone. Being able to do so much at your fingertips is a little daunting at times. When I turned it off, I was able to sit and listen to the typing on keyboards, the echoes in the hallway, and the clicking of mouses, and it was really quite enjoyable.

Finally, a challenge for tomorrow. Don’t check your phone in the morning until after breakfast. Write down what you notice when you do this.

--

--