How I Accidentally Became a Professional Meme Creator

learnprogramming
2 min readJan 27, 2023

--

So, let’s be real here. Who hasn’t accidentally stumbled upon a meme-worthy moment in their life? But, unlike most of us, I decided to turn my misfortune into a side hustle. And, let me tell you, it’s been quite the ride.

It all started with a simple picture of my dog. He was sitting there, all innocent-like, with this dopey look on his face. And I thought to myself, “That’s it. That’s the one.” I quickly grabbed my phone and snapped a pic.

Next thing I know, I’m scrolling through Instagram and see that my cousin had posted the same picture with the caption “When you finally finish your online class and it’s the weekend #relief #dogsofinstagram”. And I’m like “Hey! That’s my dog and my picture!”

But instead of getting mad, I decided to turn lemons into lemonade, and I added my own caption: “When you finally finish your online class and it’s the weekend #relief #dogsofinstagram #same”. And that’s when it happened, it blew up. Everyone was sharing it, tagging their friends, and even strangers were DMing me asking for permission to use it.

And that’s when I had an epiphany. I thought to myself, “If people like this one picture, imagine what they’d think of a whole collection of memes!” So, I started a side hustle creating memes.

From that day on, I’ve been creating memes like a pro, I’ve even been hired by companies to create memes for them. I even created a meme that went viral and got featured on a popular meme page with over 2 million followers. It was insane.

But, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows. I’ve had my fair share of haters, people who think I’m just “riding the wave” and that my memes are “not funny”. But, to them, I say this: “Haters gonna hate, potatoes gonna potate” 🥔🙄

And, to be honest, it’s been a great way to make some extra cash. I mean, who wouldn’t want to make money doing something they love? And, if you’re thinking about starting your own meme-making side hustle, I say go for it! Who knows, you might just become the next meme sensation. 💸📱🤣

--

--