Getting Started With Daily UI Challenge- Day #1

Arsalan.design
2 min readAug 31, 2023

--

Hi Everyone!

I am Arsalan, a UI UX designer based in Pakistan.

I am documenting my journey as a UI UX designer as I proceed with it and learn and practice new things.

First thing first, why UI challenge and what I do different from 80% of aspiring designers like me, so basically after listening to advice of some senior designers in industry I have understood the fact that Dribble and other flashy designs are not gonna help that much( of course UI will be improved by them but proper and sensible use of all UI principles like Type scale, hierarchy etc. still wouldn't be used the way that real products do).

That’s why I am going to replicate real world and successful apps for this perspective.

I am not sure how much daily I can do( because it’s my final year of Software Engineering, so I have to give time to my Final Year project as well, I will be sharing it’s journey as well because I will be taking the lead for the design and fronted development of that as well).

But for now we will go with little bit updates about my UI challenge and maybe some blogs on new things that I learn along the way.

For now here are screens that I created as a U I challenge and I started with Airbnb ideal design for start and really it’s experience is amazing.

Day 1–4

During my day 1–3 I started with onboarding flow as well as some component and style guide establishment for the app.

Onboarding Screens Flow for the Airbnb

Day 5–10

Next was the main and important flow of app related to Explore section and efficient search and filters etc.

Explore- Searching for Stays

Thanks for reading. I would be sharing my journey from now and documenting each and everything related to UI UX design and as well as my Final Year of Software Engineering.

Also lately I was exploring Framer as I was looking to learn something new as I already use Webflow for my freelance projects as well as for personal work.

Here is my portfolio in framer(make some major changes in a template of Framer as starter to get better understanding ;)

--

--