The Contradictory Advice for Running a Startup.

Lee
4 min readJun 1, 2018

I think Coldplay were singing about heading up a startup when they told us, ‘Nobody said it was easy. No one ever said it would be this hard.’ It’s so difficult, and it’s confusing to know who to listen to and what advice to follow to achieve success. Like anything, all those who came before us have opinions about how to be the greatest entrepreneur, the best start up and the most successful.

However is it just me or can these statements be somewhat contradictory? Here are some of my favourite ones after just over a year in business with Skull Mountain:

“Always be authentic and be true to yourself and your idea.”

To me this makes complete sense as there is no point entering into this crazy world if you aren’t going to be steadfast in your passion and commitment to your idea. ‘If you can keep your head when all around you are losing theirs’, (Thanks Kipling) then the trajectory of your business should be on an even keel. If you are the business and the business is you then don’t let others change or influence you.

But no sooner have you grasped the above concept then you’re told to:

Adapt or die.”

Okay so now I’m meant to be true to myself and my business proposition but I also have to adapt or die. Not even adapt and get a light maiming… it’s full on death. The implication then is that you can’t blindly ‘be true’ to your product at the detriment of where the journey is taking you. I guess the best we can hope for is that we are able to pivot whilst not diluting the brand or the business vision.

Similar to staying true to yourself, I get told a lot to:

Listen to your gut.”

Great in theory but what is my gut telling me, other than ‘my clothes are mysteriously shrinking…’ You have to be pretty in tune with your innards to be steadfastly relying on it. However I have previously ignored my gut and regretted it so maybe this is great advice.

My ever expanding gut isn’t the only thing I’ve been told to listen to, Sometimes we are too close to the problem, too passionate about the project so we need to listen to the advice of podcasts, other entrepreneurs or our respected confidants.

“Get a pair of fresh eyes on it.”

Don’t ask me who wins in the battle of the gut and the fresh eyes though. Don’t risk just taking the opinion of whoever you agree with out of sheer relief that someone else is helping rather than what you should actually be doing. Maybe you should listen to your gut about listening to your gut?

Let’s finish with one of my absolute favourites and perhaps, the greatest contradiction of them all — Ready for it?

“If you’re failing then it’s working.”

I do agree with this to a certain extent this because the road to success is full of many failures and you have to fail and fail hard to create the best and most effective business…

However where do we draw the line here!? When (wait, i mean if, hypothetically, in some dystopian future…!) we’re in the gutter with nothing left, drawing roadmaps on a scrap of paper snarling ‘Look at how well it’s all working,’ is that really it working or do we need to cut our losses? (Another great statement.)

So… how do we function amongst these contradictions?

We can’t I guess. We either live by one code and stick to it religiously or we don’t get bogged down in it and take all advice with a pinch of salt. Like anything, it’s all fluid and different ideals apply at different times. For example if you are seeking investment I think it is essential to be true to yourself and follow your gut. Don’t take investment from someone who your gut tells you wants to control the direction of the product and make you compromise.

Equally if you sense your business is on a nosedive, getting a fresh pair of eyes on it may help you avoid the death part of adapt or die. Maybe the most important thing to remember is, as with all things, let’s use or common sense, experience and instinct to make decisions, rather than advice that might belong in a fortune cookie.

And what advice would I give?

Act with integrity, enthusiasm and the right attitude and you will not go wrong.

This last bit of advice is what we all live by at Skull Mountain.

Did any of this resonate with you? What is some of the most contradictory business advice you’ve ever been given?

Feel free to get in touch if you want to catch up!

Lee.

--

--

Lee

Founder and Managing Director of Skull Mountain.