I watched “The Greatest Showman”

Lee Fitzpatrick
6 min readMar 19, 2018

--

(Here’s 6 lessons I pulled from it)

For a film to be worthy of my short attention span, it would have to hit at least a few of the prerequisites, usually including; a drug lord killing desperately for power, a detective dangerously balancing work life balance, undercurrents of greed, money, success and somewhere carefully hidden, a love story. I may mask it cleverly with the macho themes, but the reality is, I’m a sucker for a well plotted romance. And then there’s Titanic, my film kryptonite, the one that put’s the best made Sunday plans on hold every time it blesses the screen.

So, there you have it, my film preferences are bleak, but they want to be better, I promise.

That brings me to yesterday, “Rhianna wake up, were going to see The Greatest Showman at 1.20pm”. In disbelief, she rolled her eyes and turned back over, after repeating myself for the next ten minutes, she finally turned to face me again with a huge, slightly confused, smile on her face.

On the surface it appears to have a “rags to riches” plot which would make sense for my taste, however It’s a bloody musical, and a musical would require me to smile, immerse myself in the drama and ultimately admit defeat. What about the brutal violence, the gangs & the banks repossessing everything when the kingpin hits rock bottom? To my surprise, it had it all. In a subtle way, it had all the themes I look for in a “good” film and more, it was incredible and uplifting, I left the cinema with my shoulders rolled back, a huge smile on my face and the realisation that everything I dreamed of was standing right next to me.

I admit defeat!

This isn’t a film review, and I don’t really know much about P.T Barnum, the ambitious showman that the film is based upon, who came from nothing to create a spectacle that became a worldwide sensation. I assume that it’s been dramatized for effect, and perhaps censored to mask the darker elements of his character, and for this purpose it doesn’t really matter. I simply want to share some of the lessons that I extracted from The Greatest Showman:

#1 Risk it all

Barnum was a massive risk taker. He put everything on the line, investing everything he had into creating a circus, something that had never been done before. He brought extraordinary people (“freaks”) together and gave them hope, family and a place to shine. but he knew that there was a high chance of failure.

For me, it posed the question; what am I risking if I don’t pursue my wildest dreams?

If I never try, I will never know.

“Comfort, the enemy of progress.” — P.T. Barnum

#2 Great leaders paint a hopeful picture

The Greatest Showman opens with Hugh Jackman (P.T Barnum) singing the circus ring with his band of circus freaks. Slowly, the people begin to fade away and we find the young Barnum looking at himself in a shop window. His reflection places his face over the swanky suit he’ll later be seen in the movie.

The young Barnum clearly see’s his future vision in this reflection.

Leaders have a responsibility to cast a vision that others can clearly see. They lay out the foundation, they build upon it with a story, and they bring their team into the vision.

When things get tough, they portray this vision clearly again, they help their colleagues, staff and even customers to buy into the future of the venture.

This vision-casting creates excitement and a future to reach for. It provides hope.

Envision your future and shoot for it.

“The show must go on.” — P.T. Barnum

#3 Fake it until you make it

When you come into this world, you have no skills, apart from giving you parents a sore head! Skills must be developed. Barnum had no idea what he was doing, how could he have, it was pioneering, it hadn’t been done before. He had to act like the showman he wanted to become, he had to present the circus in a way he thought the audiences would respond well to. He had to remain confident and assured that the path he was on was correct.

All pioneers, even some I know personally share the same traits of resilience, steadfast focus and unbelievable self-belief.

The critics will instil fear into you and doubt into your fans, they will grind you down and shout from the rooftops that you are attempting the impossible, and when you become successful this noise will only get louder and harsher, but that relentless self-belief mustn’t falter.

The comprehension that no one really knows what they are doing in this world, that we must conjure up our environments, passions, skills & circumstances and offer the world the best we can. For me is a comforting realisation because it assures me that as long as I am pursuing my dreams confidently & ethically then I am on the right path.

It is ok to dream! Don’t be afraid to not know what you’re doing, you’ll learn!

“I close my eyes and I can see the world that’s waiting up for me, that I call my own” — P.T Barnum

#4 What others think is irrelevant

“They don’t understand but they will.” — P.T Barnum

The “freaks” in the circus were laughed at for their oddities. They were concerned with how the crowds viewed them. Barnum reassured his people that it didn’t matter how people saw them in the moment. What would matter is how they will see them as performers. Their skills and talents would change the hearts and minds of the crowds

Barnum’s immunity to his critics was interesting, it struck a chord with me. In one example he utilised the words of one critic who panned Barnum’s show, calling it a “circus,” and soon thereafter, Barnum used the word as the name of his business.

Not everyone is going to like you and judgments are inevitable. Take that criticism and turn it around. It shows your true strength and persistence.

Energy spent worrying what others think, is energy wasted. Be bold and be kind. What other’s think is irrelevant.

#5 The important stuff always reveals itself in the end, notice it before it’s too late

P.T. Barnum made some choices against his better judgement and got immensely wrapped up in his show business. He left his own family and his circus family to join Jenny Lind on her tour, which ends with a scandal.

It is so easy to get wrapped up in your dreams and ambitions. Especially as things begin to take an upward trajectory, requests and demands for your time erupt, and you could spend each waking minute on your own goals. it’s so easy to lose sight of what else matters in life. Regardless of whether that implies to your well-being, your family or your relationships.

The important things in your life always reveal themselves in the end. People tend to be very forgiving but be careful not to push them too much. Remember what truly matters in your life.

“You don’t need everyone to love you, just a few good people.” — Charity Barnum

#6 Be kind.

In one scene, Barnum refuses to allow the “freaks” from the circus to mingle with customers of the show at an after party, they are devastated to be shunned by someone that they respected so much.

No one is more important than anyone else. Everyone’s time is equally important. Everyone deserves respect. It goes back to the whole, “treat others the way you wish to be treated”. Be kind and good to one-another.

I suppose it’s really that simple.

“When you’re careless with other people, you bring ruin upon yourself.” — Jenny Lind

Titanic, I think you have some tough competition…

https://youtu.be/CjxugyZCfuw

--

--

Lee Fitzpatrick

Entrepreneur. Leader. Brand builder. Taking a positive approach to mental health, redefining what success means to me and taking it all as it comes.